Formula X for Sephora Manicure System Review

Awhile ago I went into Sephora hearing about this new nail polish from Sephora called, “Formula X” that I wanted to check out.  I wasn’t sure if I wanted to buy it, but I at least wanted to look at it. I have tried many nail polishes brands and they always seem to chip in 1 to 2 days, often even less than a day! I know you’re wondering does this girl use a top coat? The answer is yes and I use a base coat too! I am a nurse so I do wash my hands quite frequently and use harsh soaps. But, I have a long stretches of days off at a time since I work 12 hour shifts and they still chip even if I’m not working. So when I saw Sephora Formula X the thought, “maybe this is the miracle nail polish I’ve been waiting for” went through my mind.  I even asked the worker there what she thought of it and if it lasted a long time. She said she loves it and that it lasts about 2 weeks. When I picked it up at store it was pretty new so there weren’t many online reviews. I decided that I would try it and decide for myself if it was up to the hype that the Sephora worker stated it was.

WHAT IS FORMULA X?

A four piece manicure set that includes formulas for cleansing, priming, and shine.

Sephora states, “Take your nails to the next level of perfection with The System Kit. Start with Nail Cleanser, an essential step that leaves nails free of residue for smooth polish application. Next, apply Base Coat, an advanced adhesive primer that forms a sticky layer, helping lacquer take hold. Add your Formula X lacquer of choice for whatever effect you’re after. And finish with super glossy Top Coat to protect your manicure with dazzling high shine.”

MORE INFORMATIONhttp://www.sephora.com/the-system-P382361?icid2=FormulaX_LP_Essentials_carousel_P382361_link

WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THIS SYSTEM?

  • 0.4 oz Nail Cleanser
  • 0.4 oz Base Coat
  • 0.4 oz Top Coat
  • 0.4 oz Nail Color (of your choice)

HOW IT WORKS? 

  1. Pick up the Formula X kit online or at Sephora stores
  2. Pick out a nail polish color to add to the kit. This part was the hardest! They do have a wide array of colors!
  3. Manicure away!

WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE?

IMG_0268

Has a nice little convenient spot to add the nail polish color to make it the complete system.

IMG_0267.JPG (2)

The “magical” system with my nail color!

THE COLOR THAT I GOT!

After looking at a ton of nail polish and swatching them on the sheets provided I chose A+ which is a raspberry color. I am wearing the color in the photos below.

IMG_0273

IMG_0269

IMG_0277.JPG (2)

THE PRICE & A COLLECTION OVERVIEW!

Wow Sephora wins big on this one! They have a huge selection for just starting this Formula X system not that long ago! They have the classics and then the effects which oh my is there a lot of those!

  1. The System $32 
  2. Formula X Top and Base Coat $10.50 (each)
  3. Formula X Classics $10.50
  4. Formula X Neutrals $10.50 
  5. Formula X The Twenty-Two $55.00 (22 minis)
  6. Formula X The Effects $12.50

DEEP BREATH!!! Wow that was a lot of nail polish!

THE APPLICATION 

1. Start with the nail cleanser and lightly apply over the nail

IMG_0271

2. Apply 1 layer of base coat covering the nail

IMG_0272

3. Apply one to two coats of lacquer or nail color

IMG_0273

4. Finish with top coat applying it over lacquer

IMG_0274.JPG (2)

THE EXPERIENCE AND TURNOUT

So this system does take awhile because it has 4 steps so when it was being applied this is what I was thinking, “oh this should be strong!” I have a confession! I am terrible at painting my nails, mostly my right hand! So my aunt painted them for me!  She thought that it was pretty easy to apply. The brush is pretty standard. You can see it in the top coat photo above. It isn’t anything special! The top of the nail polish is a little bulky. If you take the white cap off of the lacquer there is a standard nail polish knob just like the rest of them! It’s just extra packaging, but I suppose it does make it look nice!

 WAS THIS MY MIRACLE POLISH??

The

Answer

Is

NO 😦

MY NAILS AFTER ABOUT 12-18 HOURS! YES THAT IS HOURS!

There is a chip! I figured that after that it would at least last a day if not longer! This was suppose to break my no chip record and it failed! OPI, Essie, Flower Beauty lacquer, and Julep even out lasted this one! Say, “Hi” to Mirya because she is in the photo 🙂 !

IMG_0219

ABOUT 24 HOURS AFTER APPLICATION!

😥

IMG_0276.JPG (2)

At this point I probably texted my mom and aunt this picture! They both said, “wow take it back!” I will add that I did not work during the time frame of wearing this nail polish.

SO WHAT DID I DECIDE TO DO?

I took it back! For a $32 dollar system to chip like that I didn’t think it was worth it! That was depressing! I honestly came to the realization that maybe nail polish isn’t for me? Maybe my nails hate nail polish! I mean there are a lot of good reviews on this system so why can’t mine be one of them?? But, I have seen quite a few bad reviews too!  I’ve tried quite a few top coats too! On my birthday I got a manicure at a salon with my mom..well…because it was my birthday! They used OPI and that did last 2-3 days so that was better, but I couldn’t even get 4 days or a week?

NEXT STEP?!?

Deal with boring nails!

NAH!!!

THIS SOUNDS MORE LIKE IT!

GEL MANICURE!!!

JAMBERRY NAILS!!!

OVERVIEW

Pros

  • Amazing range of colors and finishes
  • From Sephora so build up those Sephora points!
  • Brush is easy to apply with
  • Exchanged this for……YAY Naked palette!

DSC01380

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Chips!!!

With that I leave you this….

Mirya and Molly relaxing on that super cold Minnesota day! Yes Molly looks a little goofy, but hey my cat is talented! Mirya sleeping and probably dreaming about her hatred of that sweatshirt she wears. Right now the temperature is -11 F, but earlier it was -2 F (a heat wave)! It is right now as I type this 2:01 AM! Getting ready for those overnight shifts!

One last thought on the weather:  I read that somewhere in the cold weather someone took a wet t-shirt and put it outside, it froze within minutes!

IMG_0387 IMG_0391.JPG (2)

Hope you enjoyed this post! Comment and let me know if you have tried this nail lacquer system! I want your feedback on this collection!!!

Xoxo

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy