Home » Uncategorized » The Best of Beauty 2014: Part 1 Face Products

The Best of Beauty 2014: Part 1 Face Products

I figured that this blog post would be a perfect way for me to get back into blogging. I may have been MIA from WordPress for awhile, but my love for makeup and skincare did not disappear during those months. Sephora and Ulta continued to be dangerous for the beauty lover in me. I decided to include mostly makeup products, a few skincare products, nail polishes, and some fragrances as well. I also decided to break this up in 2 parts. That way there is not just one massively long post. Now sit back and grab the popcorn!

MAKEUP

1) Foundation

imageGoing through my 2014 beauty favorites for face products you might see that I really like the brand Tarte. My favorite foundation for this year is the Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation. They are considered to be more natural, so I feel more comfortable putting it all over my face. Tarte is know for being formulated without parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, and gluten. They’re also cruelty free! My skin is dry to normal with just some redness. With that being said, I don’t need a full coverage. I like a medium coverage foundation. I feel like this gives that to me, but if I wanted to I could build it up to a full coverage. I always try liquid foundations out of curiosity, but I end up always going back to this one. I love the brush that they make to go with the foundation because it fits in the opening perfectly and it gives a airbrushed finish. My color is in the shade fair-light neutral.

2) Primers

image

Face

I used to use the Benefit primer, but switched to tarte’s clean slate poreless 12-hr perfecting primer. First of all my reason for switching was ingredients. This one is more natural. I also really like how it feels on the skin. It makes the skin super soft and helps the foundation talked about above go on flawlessly.

Eyes

I have tried a couple different eye-shadow primers from multiple different brands: Urban Decay, The Balm, Tarte, Lorac, and Nars. I always go back to my trusty Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. Β This primer helps my eye-shadows last all day and be more vibrant looking. I really like the consistency of this product and I find it easy to use.

3) Powder
image

I really love using bareMinerals Mineral Veil loose powder with the Tarte powder brush. The finishing powder helps the look come together and it prevents my concealer from creasing. This is a very finely milled powder. Something I like about this powder is that it has SPF of 25. Gotta protect the skin from the sun! I think that I am going to switch to the compact of this same powder instead because of the less mess. I feel like with any powder there is always a little mess. The tarte powder brush is super nice. It is really soft and very sturdy. I haven’t noticed it shedding any at all. It also washes up really nicely too.

4) Blushes
image

image

I have a blush and a blush palette that I wanted to share with you! The first one is the Instain Long Wearing Staining Powder Blush by The Balm in the shade Argyle. I love this blush because it is the perfect soft pink! The Balm blushes are super pigmented, blend-able, and cruelty free. I got this blush at Kohl’s (Kohl’s now carry The Balm πŸ™‚ ) during the summer and have loved it since! This blush is just a super wearable color. My second favorite blush product is the Hourglass Ambient lighting Blush palette. This is something I got towards the end of the year, so I felt like I shouldn’t have included it! But, I love it so much, that I just didn’t feel right to leave it out. All through the year I read reviews or watched YouTube videos on this blush palette. But, what got me was the price tag! One day at MOA, I decided well might as well at least swatch them. They felt absolutely amazing! They’re the softest blushes I have ever felt. This palette comes with 3 different shades: Luminous flush, Incandescent Electra, and Mood Exposure. What makes this blush palette a favorite of mine is the ease of application. I’ve never used a blush that applies so nicely and blends so easily into the cheeks. It also gives the cheeks a nice beautiful glow.

5) Bronzers/Highlighters
image

To tell you the truth, I never really wear either bronzer or highlighter. I find it too complicating and time-consuming to worry about contouring. I did go to a Glo-Minerals makeup presentation sometime during this year and I picked up the Glo-Minerals Shimmer Brick in Luster. I love this! It gives such a natural glow to the skin. Glo-Minerals is a more natural brand as well. I find this way more easier to use and more natural looking than any bronzer.

6) Concealers
image

I’m always on the hunt for the perfect concealer because those dark circles always make an appearance. I have 2 favorite concealers that I have been using this year. The first one is byΒ Tarte and is called the Amazonian Clay Waterproof Concealer.Β I love the packaging of this concealer because it is easy to use and easy to travel with. I have the color medium. This concealer has a good amount of coverage and it doesn’t crease. It is very creamy and easy to blend. I usually just use my ring finger or a concealer brush. Sometimes I use my beauty blender. The second concealer is called Concealer Under Eye in natural by Glo-Minerals. This concealer comes with 2 shades. I mostly used the lightest shade of the 2 and I hit pan on it too! I loved the coverage it gave me. Its a creamy concealer that is easy to apply with a concealer brush. I do have to set both concealers with powder.

That concludes Part 1 of The Best of Beauty 2014. I hope that you enjoyed it! Let me know if you have tried any of these products and what you thought of them! It feels good to be back to blogging! Hope to hear from you!

Blogging signature

9 thoughts on “The Best of Beauty 2014: Part 1 Face Products

  1. Pingback: The Best of Beauty 2014: Part 2 Eye-shadows, Eyeliners, and Mascara! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

