Home » Monthly Favorites » Monthly Favorites: August 2014

Monthly Favorites: August 2014

IMG_20140830_110942834

August went by way too fast! I can’t honestly believe it is September 1st today (or September 5th, when I post this). August was a busy month for me, especially with starting a new job. I know I haven’t been blogging much lately, so why not come back with a monthly favorites post!

BEAUTY FAVORITES

1) Lorac Pro 2 Palette
When I first saw that Lorac was coming out with a new palette I wasn’t quite sure on if I would want to pick it up or not. I do have the original palette which I do love, but I always forget about using that palette. Well with seeing reviews and some beauty blogger’s creations with this palette, I decided to pick it up with my 20% coupon. I really love the cool tone hues in it and of course the fun colors included. The packaging is the same as the original palette, except this one is gray. The palette is very thin and sleek with a magnetic closure and a mirror as well. The shadows are nice and soft, but powdery. So all you need is a light touch otherwise your palette will be a mess. But, that doesn’t bother me too much because I love how soft they are.

IMG_20140830_111340564

2) Too Faced Cat Eyes Palette
Another palette in my monthly favorites! Well…why not? I do love myself some eye-shadow palettes. Too Faced came out with a couple new palettes for the Fall collection, but I decided on this one. This palette is a Sephora exclusive, whereas the Country and Rock & Roll palettes are Ulta exculsives. There was just something about the colors in this palette that made me grab it off the shelf at Sephora. Too Faced is one of my favorite makeup brands, and I feel like this palette doesn’t disappoint. I do wish that Kitty Glitter was more pigmented, but in reality I think it completes the palette as a nice shimmer shade. I used the pink shades in the palette for a nice pink look and then added kitty glitter for some extra shimmer.  With Too Faced shadows once you get past the first layer the shades become more pigmented, especially with Kitty Glitter. In the picture below I am wearing Kitty Glitter to add some extra shimmer.

IMG_20140830_111354138

 

IMG_20140804_171403025

3) Glo~Minerals Water Resistant Mascara
I have a love-hate relationship with mascara! I seem to be never satisfied with mascara and end up trying new ones all the time. I don’t understand the hype of Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara or Benefit They’re Real mascara. I just hate the application process whether it be too wet, too dry, too clumpy, too sticky, etc. Also, it is hard to find a mascara that keeps my stick straight lashes curled. Also, I like to use more natural nourishing mascaras. A lot of the drug store mascaras and even a lot of the high end mascaras use tar in their formula. I hate the feeling of lashes not feeling like lashes after application. I don’t need my lashes to feel/look like a statue because I decided to coat some tar on them. That is not good for lashes! Sorry end of rant! My salon started carrying this Glo Minerals brand and she recommended that I try this mascara after hearing about my love-hate relationship with mascara. This mascara does not have tar in it so I was happy to hear that. The mascara brush is amazing and so easy to use! I can use the brush vertical and horizontally and coat the lashes. No clumps! No spidery looking lashes either. The formula has the perfect wetness needed. I hate those super wet formulas where it takes 10 millions years to dry! Not for me! Also, my lashes feel like lashes. I have been really impressed with this mascara. I am wearing this mascara in the picture above.

IMG_20140830_111319219_HDR

4) Naked 3 Dual Ended Eyeliner Pencil
I love my Urban Decay Naked 3 palette quite a bit! I am always grabbing for it in my makeup collection. When I saw they had a dual sided 24/7 glide on eye pencil dedicated toward the Naked 3, I knew I needed to pick it up. It comes with the shades Darkside and Blackheart. I especially love the Blackheart shade because I love the red shimmer in it. Urban Decay’s eyeliner pencils are my favorite out of all the brands that I have tried. Sure, I have to sharpen them, but no big deal. I just love the creaminess of them and how easy they are to use. I am always grabbing for this eyeliner especially when I use my Naked 3.

IMG_20140830_111413445

IMG_20140830_111455763

5) Glo Minerals Shimmer Brick in Luster and Texture Brush
I also got this shimmer brick and brush at my local salon. I just wanted something that would give me a natural glow during the summer months. I was recommended by the Glo-Minerals rep to try this. I love it! I can just slightly dust it onto my cheeks and it gives me a healthy glow. It comes with 4 shades in the pan, but I just swirl all 4 shades together with the texture brush. This brush is super soft and it works really well with the application process. I have a Sigma brush like this, but I like this one quite a bit more. It is dense, but not too dense. With that being said, it picks up the perfect amount of product.

IMG_20140830_111013542

IMG_20140830_111103422_HDR

6) Marc Jacobs Daisy Dream Rollerball
I have always wanted a full sized (meaning not a rollerball) Marc Jacobs perfume, but I always say no because of the price tag! I love the packaging on his perfumes! Every single one! Especially his newest ones: Daisy Dream, Honey, and Dot. This is my first rollerball from Marc Jacobs as well. I just loved this scent, but couldn’t reason spending the price tag for the full perfume right now. It is nice because I can take it with me because it is travel friendly. I can’t describe the scent very well, but it is very clean and floral smelling. Just go into Sephora or Ulta and see if you like it because everybody has different opinions. But, I quite like it. 🙂 Also, my cousin was here this weekend and she had a rollerball in Honey and omg…amazing! I think that may be the one I get when I get a full sized perfume because the packaging is ADORABLE!

IMG_20140830_111221588

LIFESTYLE FAVORITES (Movies, Books, Games, and Food)

IMG_20140830_111801110

1) The Amazing Spiderman 2
I ❤ Spiderman. This is honestly my favorite out of all the Spiderman movies (including the originals as well). I think that the cast did an amazing job. The story line kept my attention.

2) The Count of Monte Cristo 
This is not necessarily a monthly favorite, but my all time favorite movie. I just wanted to share it with you all because you NEED to watch it. It is a little slow in the beginning, but believe me it is amazing. There are many themes in the storyline: friendship, love, betrayal, and revenge.  This is based off of a book written by Alexandre Dumas in 1844. Trust me, go watch it.

3) Aladdin 
Aladdin is a good childhood memory of mine. I always loved that movie. I still do! I may be 25, but there is always some room for Aladdin, Jasmine, Genie, Abu, and of course Rajah in my life. Even before hearing that Robin Williams died, I had watched this a few days prior. Genie is one of my favorite characters in this movie. Robin Williams will be missed.

4) Mario Kart 8 
My niece recently came over and we had fun playing this game. I am a big Nintendo fan and one of my favorite games for any Nintendo game system has been Mario Kart. My niece had so much fun playing this game with me.

5) If I Stay Book and Movie
I started this book and was about halfway through it when my friend and I went to the movie. I finished the book afterwards. It was an easy read. Sure, the movie was a little predictable, but it was still a good movie.  Oh how I wish that I could play the cello like that because that was pretty amazing. This book makes a person think about life and how fast it can be changed. Well, it sure made me think about it. Every second in life is important and it is important not to take that for granted. Right now I am reading the second book, “Where She Went.”

6) Trader Joes Chocolate Covered Powerberries
Usually I hate dark chocolate, but in these I love it! They’re sweetened with natural fruit juices such as: acai, pomegranate, blueberry, and cranberry juices. Then they’re covered with smooth dark chocolate. All I can say is….yum!

7) Young & Hungry

I love love love love this show! It makes me laugh! I love those type of shows. This show is aired on ABC Family. The characters in it are awesome together and I just love it.

That concludes this month’s monthly favorites! Comment and let  me know if you have tried any of the products mentioned or if you watch any of the movies or shows I mention. Also, don’t forget to check out the movie “The Count of Monte Cristo.” Hope you all had a wonderful August and have a wonderful September.

Blogging signature

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites: August 2014

Leave a Reply

