Home » Eye Shadow Palettes » Kat Von D Monarch Eye Shadow Palette Review

Kat Von D Monarch Eye Shadow Palette Review

eye shadow

I blame YouTube and Kat Von D herself for me buying the butterfly eye shadow palette collection. Awhile back, Sephora’s YouTube channel had released a video of Kat Von D herself introducing her two new palettes. The two palettes from this collection are called Monarch and Chrysalis. If you have been following me, it may be no surprise to you that I love palettes. So I had to jump on the opportunity to purchase them. I first will be doing the Monarch palette review and then soon after I will be doing the Chrysalis review.

A SEPHORA OVERVIEW
All information down below in italics can be found on the Sephora site found here.

What it is: An alluring, warm-toned eyeshadow palette with a stunning composition of colors—three large base shades and nine transformative accent hues—for a spectrum of stunning eye looks. 

What it does: From delicate to daring, experience a rebirth of color and explore endless eye looks with the Monarch Eyeshadow Palette. Featuring warm-toned shades in an ingenious arrangement that gives you the biggest basics and the most accent hues, now you’ll have the freedom to create your heart out without running out of the go-to colors. Relish in the luxurious texture of triple-milled powder, which picks up instantly and lays down with a one-sweep, full-coverage application. The patented Power Last™, long-wearing formula gives you buildable, from dawn-to-dusk drama, while an infusion of antioxidants including rose extract and vitamins A, C, and E all work to keep your eyelids hydrated and protected. 

What else you need to know: Inspired by the metamorphosis of the butterfly, Kat created this palette to give you endless ways to transform your eyes every day. The palette is decorated with original artwork derived from her love of butterflies—a symbol of rebirth and renewal. Follow Kat’s tutorials for tips and inspiration.

PACKAGING

Something about Kat Von D’s palettes are they all have amazing packaging!  With Kat Von D being an artist herself, she of course designs her own palettes covers. You can tell that she spends a lot of time perfecting each and every detail of her design. This palette cover is probably one of my favorites of the ones I have seen of her brand. I love butterflies! I even have a tattoo of a butterfly. I feel like a butterfly symbolizes freedom because it has the ability to fly wherever it wants to. Maybe, that sounds cheesy, but that is what my tattoo symbolizes to me. Anyway, the cover has a monarch butterfly on it as you can see in the photo below. The cover to this palette is so very her, especially since she added the skulls to the end of the butterfly wings. The back of the palette has a lot of detail in it as well because on each side of the names there is the same butterfly wings. This palette feels very sturdy and does have a magnetic closure. I know I heard a lot of people were upset that it wasn’t her usual tin packaging. Well, I actually like this cardboard type of packaging over her normal tin. The inside of the palette has a nice sized mirror which isn’t that important to me because I never use those mirrors. But, it would be nice for travel purposes.

IMG_20140506_164329108

IMG_20140506_164334699

IMG_20140506_164427340

PRICING AND SIZE

The price of this palette is $46.00 which is expensive, but most palettes from Sephora are around that price range. That is because it is more of a “prestige” brand. Also, remember that this is a Sephora only exclusive brand. You can either buy it in store or online. Also, with the always moving makeup industry this palette won’t be available for much longer. I assume she is working on her next palette by now. It is crazy that some makeup brands are already bringing out Fall 2014 collections! Aaaahhh…. slow down! It is still Summer!

On the back of the palette it says, “Keep your look ever-changing, highlight eyes with 3 textural bases and accentuate with 9 transformative colors.” According to Sephora the amount of shadows included are: 3 x 0.095 oz and 9 x 0.049 oz. Those are pretty nice sizes if you ask me. More information found here

THE SHADES
This palette comes with a bunch of different finishes and shades. This is a very warm toned palette with brown, gold, copper, and orange shades. This palette has shimmery, pearl, and matte finishes as well. Because of that, there is a multitude of looks that a person could come up with using this palette.  I am horrible at describing colors, so I am showing you the descriptions off of Sephora’s website for each of the shades. I would try and describe them, but I feel like the most important part of the review is the use and ease of the shadows.

IMG_20140506_164345150_HDR

Textural Bases

  1. entomology: matte cream
  2. telopathy: pearl gold
  3. tiny death: glitter cream

Transformative Colors

  1. wrath: deep pearl orange
  2. papillo: pearl chocolate
  3. summerfly: glitter gold
  4. killing jar: pearl copper
  5. delaney: pearl silver
  6. vanish: matte taupe
  7. disintegration: pearl brown
  8. shadow box: matte chocolate
  9. deadhead: matte black

THE SWATCHES

IMG_20140506_164349762_HDR  IMG_20140508_140724288

IMG_20140508_135023085   IMG_20140508_140851413

IMG_20140506_164359089   IMG_20140508_141410488

FORMULATION

What I love about eye shadow is each makeup brand has a different formulation for their shadows. Some are better than others and some are more expensive than others as well. But, pricing doesn’t necessarily mean anything. Something that I noticed about the formula from this palette is that they’re super soft. Due to the softness, it makes them very powdery.  If you put too much on your brush the shadow will go everywhere. So what I recommend is a light hand. With that being said, I really do enjoy the formula. The shadows being powdery does not bother me at all because they’re soft and easy to work with. It does have some fall out so usually I do my foundation afterwards. But, the fallout isn’t terrible either. The shadows are super pigmented so only a little amount is needed. My favorite shades are the first 3 of the tranformative shadows: wrath, papillo, and summerfly. Using those shadows creates a gorgeous look! Another thing that I love about this palette is that it is formulated without parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. That is a big time pro for me!  I think that this palette is perfect for Fall, but in all reality could be used all year around.

PROS

  • Gorgeous and unique packaging
  • Softness of shadows
  • Pigmentation
  • Only need a tiny amount so palette will last a long time
  • Size/amount of shadows included
  • Study palette with mirror included
  • Paraben, sulfate, and phthlate free
  • Made in the USA

CONS

  • Price
  • Powdery
  • Limited Edition
  • Only available through Sephora

A RANDOM FOTD

IMG_20140508_152030862

Overall, I highly recommend picking up this palette if you get the chance. This is such a fun warm toned palette and I have had a lot of fun creating looks using it. So far, I am quite impressed with Kat Von D’s makeup brand. Recently, I picked up one of her blushers so that review will be coming up soon. Comment down below if you have this palette or are thinking about picking it up. I love reading your comments!

Blogging signature

 

9 thoughts on “Kat Von D Monarch Eye Shadow Palette Review

  1. Great post – I love all the detail you included! I have to agree – she has the best packaging…hands down! It all looks stunning. Bummer about the colors being powdery – they swatched and look beautiful on you!

Leave a Reply

