Home » Monthly Favorites » June 2014 Favorites!

June 2014 Favorites!

IMG_20140701_144147546

I can’t believe June is already over! Now that it is July, that means more than half of 2014 is over. Wow, life goes fast! That is why we should embrace each and every day! 🙂 It is now time for my monthly favorites! I had a lot of new found loves and some re-experienced loves this month.

SKINCARE & MAKEUP

1) Glo-Minerals The Cherry Balm

IMG_20140701_144542575

My mom won this cherry chapstick at the Glo Minerals makeup presentation/class that my local salon put on. Lucky her! Since she loves it so much, I decided to pick one up for myself. I love love love love this stuff! It feels amazing on the lips. It smells like amazing cherries! It has helped my super dry lips quite a bit. This may be well on its way to becoming a holy grail! It is also natural and cruelty free! It is also quite a large tube compared to other chapsticks at 0.65 oz. Also, it is nice that it has SPF in it, especially during the summer months.

2) Naked 3

IMG_20140701_144442603

I used this palette quite a bit this month because it went with a lot of my outfits. I just kept reaching for it over and over. This palette was in my monthly favorites a couple months back and it is back for another monthly favorites! I just love the colors. One of my favorite shades is Buzz which is the 5th shade in.

3) Color Tattoos by Maybelline in Sunwashed Sky and Shimmering Sea

IMG_20140701_144315014

These 2 color tattoos are my first and only color tattoos that I own. I saw them at Walgreen’s when I was shopping for my box swap. I picked the Shimmering Sea one up for her as well. I just think that the shades are very unique, especially the Shimmering Sea one. It is a greenish-gold shade. I think that it looks amazing under a neutral eye look and it helps give it a different look in the end. The Sunwashed Sky shade is gorgeous as well and more of a blue-purplish shade. Although, I would have to say the Shimmering Sea shade is my favorite out of the two.

4) Almond Hand & Nail Cream from The Body Shop

IMG_20140701_144424410

I got this in my most recent haul from The Body Shop at the Mall of America. The Body Shop is very new to me, so I thought that I would try this cream out. So far I am loving it. The scent is nice and subtle. The formula is moisturizing. It is not greasy at all which is a big pro! Overall, I am quite impressed!

5) Glo Minerals Brush Cleaner

IMG_20140701_144608097

I’ll be honest and tell you that I absolutely hate washing my makeup brushes! It is probably the most annoying and time consuming thing about makeup. I got this at my makeup presentation and I am glad I did. It is really nice to be able to quickly clean my makeup brushes. I still do a deep cleaning with soap and water, but I feel better now that I have included this in the health of my brushes. It does seem to clean them really well and it sanitizes the brushes as well because of the alcohol content in it.

6) No7 Exquisite Curl Mascara

IMG_20140701_144500490

Target recently started carrying some Boots products and I decided to try out this No7 mascara. My eyelashes are straight and don’t like to curl. The wand does have a nice curve to it and surprisingly it does help them curl. It doesn’t necessarily stay curled all day, but I have not met a mascara that keeps my lashes curled all day. Something I love about this mascara is that my lashes feel like lashes and feel soft with it applied compared to it being hard and icky feeling.

FASHION

1) My yellow dress
This is the yellow dress that I wore to my friend’s wedding! I got it from JcPenney and I just think that it is a perfect summer dress.

IMG_20140620_162411034_HDR

2) My 1960s outfit!
I was part of a collaboration, “Makeup Through the Ages.” I did my makeup look and fashion look for the 1960s. This was definately a monthly favorite because I had a lot of fun with this collaboration! If you haven’t checked out our collaboration, then I recommend that you do!

outfit 1

LIFESTYLE FAVORITES

IMG_20140703_184326947

1) Maleficent

I am a huge Disney fan! With that being said, I was super excited to see this movie! I thought that it was amazing and I also thought that Angelina Jolie was PERFECT for this role. I have a lot more respect for her after this role as an actress. I just loved the different take on the popular story compared to the usual Disney’s Sleeping Beauty story. Also, Maleficent had some amazing cheek bones in this movie. I know Angelina Jolie had to spend numerous hours in the makeup chair, but coming from a makeup enthusiast’s stand point: it was pretty amazing!

2) The Fault In Our Stars Movie and Book

Both the book and the movie are in my monthly favorites this month! I read a part of the book and then I saw the movie, then I finished the book. It is such a sad story, but very moving. I saw the movie twice in theaters (once with a friend and the other with my mum) and I cried both times. I knew a classmate from high school that died of cancer and it made me think a lot of him. He was way too young to die. Sometimes life is hard to understand why certain things happen to certain people, but nobody said life was easy.

3) Candy! 
Yes, I had to include this because I have been enjoying my candy from Jacquelyn from The Little Scottish Corner! I would have to say my favorite is the Percy Pigs. There is just something about them that I love! I wish we had them in the USA, but that it okay because it is a nice little treat. My box of candy is shown in the photo above.

4) Banana Boat Soothing Aloe After Sun
I got sunburned this month.  So using this feels very nice on my sunburned skin. I do like using the gel over the lotion because I think that it is more beneficial.

5) Walking the dogs!
It was nice to be able to walk the dogs this month! Finally we had some nice weather! Mirya and Maddie are both fans of going on walks.

IMG_20140615_201912071

6) Feeding the ducks with my nieces!
I had a lot of fun going to the park and feeding the ducks! They had a lot of fun too!

IMG_20140628_140229627IMG_20140628_135017204

7) The Lego Movie
Having only brothers growing up, I saw quite a bit of Legos. So when the Lego Movie came out, I, of course wanted to see it. It brings back a lot of good childhood memories! Of course the theme song, “Everything is Awesome” gets stuck in my head everytime I see this movie.

8) Chasing Life
This is a new show that I started watching on ABC Family! So far I am loving it! It is about a 24 year old reporter who ends up getting cancer. It is only a few episodes in, but so far it has been really good. Instead of explaining it, just watch the preview that I posted below!

 

That concludes this monthly favorites post! Comment and let me know if you have tried any of these products or seen any of the movies/shows that I mentioned! Comment down below and let me know! I love hearing from you all!

Blogging signature

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “June 2014 Favorites!

  1. TFIOS was such a nice movie. I liked the book better after watching it. The cast was amazing. 😀 I missed out on Maleficent. Naked 3 is such a pretty palette. I can never take my eyes off it. ❤

      • I didn’t like Divergent at all but it really is cool how their acting totally changed for the whole movie. They both are quite amazing at what they do. 🙂 Maleficent is on the list. 😀 PS. I love your yellow dress. We don’t have the store you got it from here but I will be looking for something similar from the shops here. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

