Home » Nails » Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April!

Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April!

If you have been following me you know that I have been picking up the Birthstone Collection by Julep each month. This month I forgot to order it right away and then shipping took awhile. I’m sorry I’m sharing with you this post at the end of April, when it should have been at the beginning to middle of April.

The birthstone for the month of April is the diamond! My brother was born in April so he gets the diamond birthstone. When we were younger, he would always make fun of us because he was the diamond child or something like that.

According the The American Gem Society, “As the April birthstone, diamonds are the ideal gift for a loved one.  And now you have more choices than ever. Get creative and give the ultimate gift of beauty: a fancy-color diamond. Fancy-color diamonds are natural, rare and truly exotic gem of the earth.  Diamonds in hues of yellow, red, pink, blue, and green range in intensity from faint to vivid and generally the more saturated the color, the higher the value. In fact, diamonds sparkling with intense color are rare and may be priced higher than a colorless diamond of equal size.  Because fancy-color diamonds are very desirable, color is sometimes introduced in a laboratory. These are correctly called color-treated diamonds. When purchasing a fancy-color diamond, the shopper should ask if any enhancements or treatments were used to improve its color and/or clarity. – See more at: http://www.americangemsociety.org/april-birthstone#sthash.Sua3qfoG.dpuf”

What Julep says about their April polish stated down below and in italics.

Breathable nail color—Color Treat is no ordinary nail polish.
Color description:Diamond birthstone. Full-coverage holographic microglitter with real diamond dust for extra sparkle. The amazing April jewel in our gold-capped Birthstone Collection.
Coretta – Diamond for April is a tribute to the luminous life and legacy of civil rights leader Coretta Scott King, born April 27.

I love that they name each polish after someone important in society!

Here is a picture of Coretta Scott King! She worked along side her husband Martin Luther King Jr. and was known as, “First Lady of the Civil Rights Movement,” Image and information found off the Julep Blog here.

 

 

Swatches from Julep

These photos were also found on their blog which is once again found here.

Coretta_Dollop

Coretta_Swatches

My Thoughts

The polish comes in its normal Julep style packaging. This polish does have a gold top compared to their normal black top. Amount included is small but their usual size at .27 fl oz or 8 ml.

IMG_20140427_163129504

I really love this color because it is one of those polishes that depending on the light it looks a different color.

IMG_20140427_163204386

Here are my swatches!

IMG_20140427_170715380

IMG_20140427_165253245

The Formula

I was really excited when I first saw the shade and was excited to paint my nails with this polish. I was very very disappointed with this formula. I will admit I’m not the best at painting my nails, but this polish was extremely hard to work with. It was super thick. You may or may not be able to tell how thick the polish was by the photo below.  It reminds me a lot of the consistency of January’s polish. I would describe the consistency a lot like a gel which is hard to spread across the nails without making a mess like I did. Also, this was my first time using it and it is already a third gone. The picture above is a picture of my 3 best nails that I painted. I ended up getting annoyed with this polish because some of them looked awful and a few of them that looked nice ended up getting smudged, lets just say the nail polish remover came out! It really makes me sad that I wasted my time painting my nails. Basically in order to get better results, I had to wipe pretty much all the polish off the brush, but then it would take multiple coats to make it more opaque. I really hope that this Julep Pile wand will help me with application and actually help me enjoy painting my nails. (I will be getting my May subscription box soon because they sent them out early!) But, I really think that the problem here was the formula. I really hope that they do much better with May.

IMG_20140427_170427578

Hope that you enjoyed this post! Comment and let me know if you have tried Julep polishes or if you have been trying the Birthstone Collection!

Make sure to enter my giveaway! It will end the last day of this month!!!

Also, don’t forget to check out my previous posts from this month during the #30daysofthebeautydeputy

Day 28: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection

Day 27: An OOTF and FOTD! 

Day 26: Get Ready with Me Blog Hop

Day 25: Pacifica Natural Lip Tint Review

Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow!

Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection

Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review

Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products…

Day 20: Happy Easter and The Beauty Scenario Tag

Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

Day 18: Easter Goodies!

Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup

Day 16: Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep

Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

Day 14: Soap & Glory Endless Glove

Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus

Day 12: The Spring Tag

Day 11: Beauty Box 5

Day 10: Discuss with Me #3

Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap Spring Box

Day 8: No 3 month No-Buy

Day 7: My Weekend & an Ulta Sale

Day 6: Tag 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make

Day 5: Only One Tag

Day 4: GIVEAWAY

Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Natural Lip Balm

Day 2: March Favorites

Day 1: Beauty & Fashion Spring Picks Blog Hop

Follow me! Bloglovin Twitter Facebook Instagram

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!!

#30daysofthebeautydeputy

#thebeautydeputy

Blogging signature

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April!

    • Hey! Sorry it took so long to comment back! This comment went into my spam folder! :/ You can always sign up for your free Julep Maven box and cancel if you don’t like it. At least you got your first box for free!

  1. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

