Home » lush » Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review

Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review

I have gone through a few tubs of this lotion from Lush. It was actually one of my first Lush items that I ever bought from them. I have now become a big Lush fan and I am very happy that a classmate of mine told me about this amazing company. I love their beliefs and values and how they stand strong against animal testing. This lotion is called, “Charity Pot.” By buying a Charity Pot lotion, Lush actually donates 100% of its proceeds to charity (excluding taxes). That is pretty amazing for a company to do because usually it is 25% or less that goes to charity. There are a few different charities that you can pick from when buying your lotion. I think that this lotion is such a nice cause and that was the biggest reason that I decided to try this lotion over the others.

DSC00645  IMG_1276

According to Lush, “Since 2007, we’ve donated more than $4,750,000 to over 400 GRASSROOTS CHARITIES in 35 countries.” Information found here

I think that is amazing!

What Lush says about its Charity Pot lotion,Inside every black pot of Charity Pot is a whole lot more than a creamy body lotion to hydrate parched, dry skin. Of course, it’s filled with the finest ingredients, including Fair Trade organic cocoa butter, and made by hand with love. Not to mention the gorgeous fresh, ylang ylang floral fragrance. What makes it so special? Every penny (yes, every single penny) that you pay for a pot, excluding the tax, goes to fund and support grassroots charities all around the world. You end up with softer, floral-scented skin AND you’re doing a world of good with every pot purchased.”  Information found here

Want more information?!? Check out this video from Lush!

Kudos to Lush for donating all the proceeds to charity!!!

Lush is known for its natural ingredients that they put into their products. Lush’s tagline is fresh handmade cosmetics, which it even states on their bag. With that being said, I felt like it was very important to check out the ingredients and talk a little bit about them.

IMG_1273

Ingredients as shown on Lush’s website

Water (Aqua) , Almond Oil (Prunus dulcis) , Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao) , Glycerine , Stearic Acid , Ylang Ylang Oil (Cananga odorata) , Geranium Oil (Pelargonium crispum) , Tagetes Oil (Tagetes minuta) , Triethanolamine , Cetearyl Alcohol , *Geraniol, *Citronellol , *Limonene , *Linalool , Fragrance ,Gardenia Extract (Gardenia jasminoides) ,Methylparaben , Propylparaben

As you can see there is a lot of natural ingredients with the featured ingredient being Ylang Ylang oil on their website. It also has fair trade cocoa butter. But, there is also parabens included. I’m surprised that these are included in this lotion since Lush strives for being all natural. I honestly don’t know that much about parabens, but with more and more things going paraben free I am honestly surprised that Lush hasn’t gone that way yet. Hopefully they will soon!

DSC00647

DSC00648

All Lush products come with this yellow sticker which states when the product was made, who made the product, and the expiration date.

MY THOUGHTS

Packaging

I’m not the biggest fan of lotion in tubs because I like easy access with using a pump. I’ll be honest sometimes I choose my Indigo Wild Almond lotion over this especially if I’m in a hurry because that lotion comes with a pump. Although, Lush states that its packaging is not virgin and made from 100% recycled plastic. I really think that is awesome of Lush, so all in all, I will still buy this over and over pump or no pump.

DSC00646

Sizes & Prices

The price is hefty, but I don’t mind because I love the cause! This lotion comes in 2 different sizes. The small tub is $5.95 for 1.7 oz and the large tub is $22.95 for 7.9 oz. Remember that this lotion is made fresh so yes it will be more expensive than lets say a generic lotion bought at a Target or Wal-Mart.

 Color

The color of this lotion is light yellow.

DSC00651

Scent

The scent isn’t the best in my opinion. It does smell super strong in the tub. Some people I know have been turned away from this lotion because of that. But, honestly it smells differently when applied to the skin. It isn’t as strong and it is nice and soft instead. It is a mixture between floral and cocoa.  It reminds me of freshly cut flowers.

Texture

The texture is semi thick. It isn’t too liquidy and isn’t thick like a body butter. I feel like this lotion has a nice texture and it blends into the skin very easily. The lotion isn’t greasy at all.

Moisture

This is what makes this lotion amazing! I have super dry skin especially during the winter months. My legs become super dry and itchy if I don’t apply lotion. Using this lotion keeps my skin moisturized and feeling so much better. Even if the scent isn’t my favorite, this is the selling point for me. Like I said above, the scent doesn’t linger and once applied to the skin it is nice and soft.

Overall thoughts!

I really like this lotion if you haven’t realized that by now. Even though I’m not the fondest of the scent, I still do love this lotion. When I went to Lush at Mall of America they had the little Charity Pots sitting up at the register. Of course I decided to throw one in with my other purchases! I will continue to buy this lotion, but I really do hope that they make it paraben free!

Comment and let me know what you think of this lotion! What do you think of the scent? Comment down below and let me know! I love hearing from you all!

Also, don’t forget to check out my previous posts from this month during the #30daysofthebeautydeputy

Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products…

Day 20: Happy Easter and The Beauty Scenario Tag

Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

Day 18: Easter Goodies!

Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup

Day 16: Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep

Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

Day 14: Soap & Glory Endless Glove

Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus

Day 12: The Spring Tag

Day 11: Beauty Box 5

Day 10: Discuss with Me #3

Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap Spring Box

Day 8: No 3 month No-Buy

Day 7: My Weekend & an Ulta Sale

Day 6: Tag 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make

Day 5: Only One Tag

Day 4: GIVEAWAY

Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Natural Lip Balm

Day 2: March Favorites

Day 1: Beauty & Fashion Spring Picks Blog Hop

Follow me! Bloglovin Twitter Facebook Instagram

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!!

#30daysofthebeautydeputy

#thebeautydeputy

Blogging signature

 

 

14 thoughts on “Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review

      • I never realised that so many of their products have parables until I read about it somewhere a couple of months ago, I was shocked. I always just assumed they wouldn’t because they are so natural. I still love lush products but I wish they would hurry up and take the parabens out so they really are all natural.

  1. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  2. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  3. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  4. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  6. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

