Home » Ipsy » Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks

Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks

With it nearing the end of April that can mean a variety of things, with receiving my Ipsy glam bag being one of them. Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service that costs $10 dollars a month. They usually send around 5 beauty samples ranging from skincare to makeup in a cute little cosmetic bag. I have had Ipsy for a good portion of time and I do really enjoy receiving these monthly. BirchBox has come and gone, and Beauty Box 5 may be out the door as well, but Ipsy so far has been my favorite.

Time to share with you all the items that I got this month!

This month’s theme was Beauty Rocks! Personally I think that this month’s bag is ugly. Definitely not a fan of it, but I suppose that it does fit the theme really well. This month’s bag also has a smell to it that I can’t explain. I would say that it is a mix between a factory/chemical smell and something I can’t distinguish. I do really like the shade of purple, but that is no surprise because I love purple!

IMG_1846

Here is the little card that comes inside the bag. It just shows information about brand offers. I hate that Ipsy doesn’t include a card that states a description about the products like BirchBox and Beauty Box 5.

IMG_1847

Here is an overview of the items included!

IMG_1862

Item #1 Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion skin exfoliant

What Ipsy says, “The dr. brandt® microdermabrasion gently sweeps away dead skin cells and softens skin texture, which enables better absorption of skincare products and helps diminish the appearance of fine lines, acne marks, and skin discolorations. A great at home alternative to professional clinical treatments. Safe to use for all skin types. For best results use with dr. brandt® skincare products. ” Information found here

I didn’t feel like trying this on my face quite yet, especially with starting my long stretch at work. I really don’t want to have any break outs because I decided to try a new product on my face. I did try a tiny bit on a portion of the top of my hand and this stuff sure made them smooth. The scrub particles are very fine which is something that I like. I do really like the scent as well. It reminds me of lime tea. So far I’m very intrigued to give this a go and see if it makes my face super soft, but that will happen after my long stretch at work.

IMG_1853

Item #2  24/7 Velvet Glide-On Eye Pencil from Urban Decay in Black Velvet

What Ipsy says, “A must for smoky-eye fanatics: an ultra-plush version of UD’s creamy, waterproof 24/7 formula. Create perfectly blended-out or rich, precise lines that are blacker-than-black. ” More information found here

I really like these eye liner pencils from Urban Decay. When I first started getting into Urban Decay, I got this set that came with a bunch of mini eyeliners. I think that they’re super creamy and easy to use. This eyeliner does not tug on the eyelid during application. I hate that I have to sharpen these pencils, but since I like the formula I don’t mind too much. I am more of a fan of twist up eye liner pencils such as Stila, but I feel like Stila’s formula is a little too soft. All in all I was happy to receive another pencil and was even more excited because it is in a color that I have never tried.

IMG_1851

IMG_1852

Item #3 Tinted Lip Balm by Cailyn in Apple Pink

What Ipsy said, “Indulge in colors that last and formulas that enrich! This ultra matte, super moisturizing lip balm offers you rich colors with amazing staying power.” More information found here

This lip balm has super bulky packaging. At first I was amazed by how bulky it was until I realized that it came with a lip brush. So far I like this lip balm and I love that it came with a brush (seems to be a nice one too). Although, yes I think the shape is odd and I might have a hard time finding a place for it in my collection I know I will get some good use out of this one. I really like the color and don’t think that it is too bold for me. I do think that it wasn’t as moisturizing as it claims. I just added a swipe of my Miranda’s Tangerine lip balm for some extra moisture.

caitlyn collage

 

Item #4 Jasmine Perfume Oil Roll On by Demeter

What Ipsy says, “An exotic, sweet, warm floral bouquet. Demeter’s Jasmine is the experience of the living flowers picked on a beautiful spring night. Wear alone or layer with your favorite Demeter fragrance. With over 250 fragrances, the Demeter Fragrance library is inspired by everyday objects and experiences. ” More information found here

I was not impressed with the scent of this! I feel like a person is either going to love it or hate it. I just wasn’t liking it because it was way too strong for me. I do have a perfume collection and I never ever saw myself wanting to use this. So I decided to swap with another person. She is sending me an Essie polish in exchange for this product and the following product below.

IMG_1850

Item #5 Pop! Goes the Shadow by Elizabeth Mott in Champagne

What  Ipsy says, “The Elizabeth Mott pop! goes the eyeshadow is the ultimate eyeshadow that’s long lasting, easy to apply, and effortlessly blends. Buildable colors will take you from subtle highlights to dramatic smokey eyes. With pop! goes the shadow, eye shadow creasing is a thing of the past. Get ready to try the eye shadow that will change your life!” More information found here

I just wasn’t excited about this item. It’s not because I didn’t think that the color was pretty. I did not swatch it for the reason that I swapped it for my Essie polish, but the color did look pretty in the pan. I tend to use palettes instead of single eye-shadows. I think the reason that I decided not to even try it was because I belong to a group on Facebook where we can swap and trade beauty subscription items. I decided to post a picture of both this item and the one above and see what people had to say. I am quite happy that I will be getting a new Essie polish instead.

IMG_1849

So that concludes this bag for the month of April. So overall I thought this bag was medicore. I just wasn’t as excited as previous bags. I think that part of it was because I am annoyed because I never receive the Ipsy products that I actually want ever. I really wanted the Benefit Lolltint, but oh well! I just get annoyed when any subscription box service posts a photo of an item on their Facebook page or Instagram or some social media site as a sneak peek and then I don’t even receive that item. Sorry for my little rant! Comment and let me know if you subscribe to Ipsy and what you got in your Ipsy bag! I love hearing from my readers!

Also, don’t forget to check out my previous posts from this month during the #30daysofthebeautydeputy

Day 18: Easter Goodies!

Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup

Day 16: Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep

Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

Day 14: Soap & Glory Endless Glove

Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus

Day 12: The Spring Tag

Day 11: Beauty Box 5

Day 10: Discuss with Me #3

Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap Spring Box

Day 8: No 3 month No-Buy

Day 7: My Weekend & an Ulta Sale

Day 6: Tag 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make

Day 5: Only One Tag

Day 4: GIVEAWAY

Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Natural Lip Balm

Day 2: March Favorites

Day 1: Beauty & Fashion Spring Picks Blog Hop

Follow me! Bloglovin Twitter Facebook Instagram

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!!

#30daysofthebeautydeputy

#thebeautydeputy

Blogging signature

15 thoughts on “Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks

  1. Pingback: Day 20: Happy Easter!!!! Plus The Beauty Scenario Tag | The Beauty Deputy

  2. Pingback: Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products… | The Beauty Deputy

  3. Pingback: Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review | The Beauty Deputy

  4. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  6. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  9. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  10. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  11. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

