Home » Eye Shadow Palettes » Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

Untitled

Can you believe that we’re halfway through April? That is crazy! Want to know another crazy thing? I checked the weather last night before I went to bed and it says that it is supposed to snow on Wednesday! I sure hope not! Last year it snowed during the end of April, so I guess I wouldn’t be surprised if Minnesota throws us another snow storm. I have been really slacking on my palette reviews lately, but I promise I have much more to come. I was debating on which palette review to do first and I decided on my Kat Von D Esperanza palette because I feel like it has perfect Spring colors. Back in February I first heard about this palette when I was searching through my YouTube subscription feed. I found a video on Sephora’s channel of Kat Von D describing her new palette called, “Esperanza.” I’ve never had anything from the Kat Von D makeup line which is only available at Sephora, but these colors were just calling my name. Kat Von D is a very popular tattoo artist and she even has her own show. I’m not sure if it is still on, but I know she had one in the past. The eye look that she wore in parts of the video with the mint green and purple shadow made me want this palette. I felt like they were gorgeous colors and I had nothing like this palette in my collection. In the video Kat Von D states that the word “Esperanza” means a lot to her because of her Latin heritage, and that Esperanza meant hope. The next time I went to Sephora I decided to pick it up. I got the last one there at the time so I was super happy that it wasn’t sold out. I did link the video down below in case you’re interested in watching the video.

SEPHORA’S VIEWPOINT

What Sephora says about this palette is down below and all in italics.  Information found on Sephora’s website here.

  • What it is: A fresh palette of eight long-wear, full coverage shadows that deliver matte, pearl, and high-glitter finishes, plus one transformative color veil. 
  • What it does: Inspired by the transformative spirit of spring, this luxurious eye shadow palette contains a variety of shades ranging from subtle mattes to bold shimmers and pearls. The transformer shade, Dayglo, can layer on to each color to add a unique dimension. A built-in mirror helps you create an abundance of on-the-go eye looks. 
  • This set contains: – 0.035 oz x 8 eye shadows in Selena (glitter purple), Dayglo (transformer shade, iridescent white), Galore (pearl peach), Placebo (matte peony pink), Santeria (glitter greenish grey), Archangel (sparkle seafoam green), South (matte beige), Dog Roses (sparkle bronze) 
  • What it is formulated WITHOUT: – Parabens 
  • What else you need to know: Palette is infused with rose extract to moisturize delicate eyelid area. 

IMG_1021

PRICE

This is a palette only available at Sephora so the prices are going to be higher than lets say a drugstore brand. Sephora sells more prestige makeup brands. This palette retails at $36.00. I think that it is actually a good price if you think about other palettes and their prices.

PACKAGING

This Esperanza palette comes in a matching box. Since it has the same images as the palette itself, I didn’t feel bad throwing away the outer box. I think that the packaging is very Kat Von D. The images that she used for this palette were hand drawn by Kat Von D herself. I think that it is very cool that she took so much time in designing her palette cover. I really love the colors she chose. I’m not crazy about skulls, but it is very fitting for this palette in my opinion. I love the details and all the colors that went into the palette cover. I love the variety of flowers. The gorgeous flowers also go inside around the mirror and onto the back side of the palette as well. It is made out of sturdy cardboard and does have a magnetic closure. I know some people were upset over the packaging not being tin like her previous palettes. I prefer that this palette would be made of sturdy cardboard than tin. It does have a good sized mirror, although it does not stay up. This doesn’t really bother me because I usually never use palette mirrors. Overall, I am quite impressed with this palette’s packaging. I don’t think that Kat Von D should have changed a thing.

IMG_1009

This palette was made in the USA.

IMG_1010

IMG_1013

INGREDIENTS

These ingredients listed are off the Sephora website. See link above. I do really love that it is formulated without parabens! The shadows are also formulated with rose flower extract as stated by Sephora.

Mica, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Squalane, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Glyceryl Caprylate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Rosa Canina Flower Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Trimyristin, Potassium Sorbate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Tin Oxide, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Carmine (Ci 75470). (+ / -) : Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140:1), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090:2), Manganese Violet (Ci 77742), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite (77019).

EYE SHADOW COLORS

If you’re a fan of color, I’m sure you would agree with me that this palette comes with amazing color options. If you’re a more neutral person I would recommend a different palette. I would have never thought to put these shades together, but somehow they work well together. I feel like each shade compliments each other.

Top 4 shades: selena, dayglo (transformer shade), galore, and placebo.
Bottom 4 shades: santeria, archangel, south, and dog roses.

IMG_1015

SWATCHES 

ROW 1

IMG_1014

IMG_1017

IMG_1018

Selena
This purple shade is gorgeous! I have never seen a purple quite like this in any palettes out on the market today. I would describe it as a shimmery medium toned purple with silver glitter, that almost looks a little turquoise in certain lighting. I really love this shade and it is my favorite out of the palette. Purple is also my favorite color so that is no surprise that it is my favorite shade.  I think that this shade could be used just about anywhere on the eye (inner portion of eyelid or outer corner), it just depends on what kind of look you’re going for.

Daylo
This shade is considered the transformer shade. According to Kat Von D applying this shadow over other shades gives it a different look and by using this shade you will find these secrets shades that you’ve never seen before. I would describe this shade as a shimmery pearly white with a green shift. I wish that you could tell by the pictures but there is a slight greenish tint in this color. I find it to be gorgeous! I think that this shade could be used by itself and by doing this it will add a glowing look to your eye look. I haven’t noticed much change to the colors when I apply it over the other shades, but playing around with this shade it does seems to give shades a slight greenish shift. All in all, I really love this transformer shade.
Galore
This shade I haven’t used as much as the others, but I do love it in the look that Kat Von D created in that video above. The color is gorgeous and perfect for Spring. This shade is a very wearable, because it isn’t too dark of an orange. I would describe it as a perfect pearly tangerine shade. This shade could be used anywhere on the eye as well, just depends on what kind of eye look you’re creating.
Placebo
Another perfect shade for Spring! It is a gorgeous matte peachy-peony pink shade. It is nice that they included a matte shade in this palette. This shade could be used anywhere on the eye as well, just depends on what kind of eye look you’re creating.

ROW 2

IMG_1016

IMG_1019

 

IMG_1020

Santeria
I love this shade. It is perfect for adding dimension to a look. I would describe this shade as a charcoal deep grey with greenish-turquoise sparkles. It turns into more of a greenish charcoal when the transformer shade is added. You could use this shade anywhere, but it is my favorite to use in the outer corner. Although, you could use it in the inner portion of the eyelid for a more darker dramatic look.
Archangel
This shade is the other reason I really wanted this palette, besides the purple. I love mint green so that is probably why I love this shade so much. It has more of a satin finish with blueish tint sparkles. This can be applied in the inner portion of the eyelid or the outer portion as well.
South
This is the shade that completes the palette. It is a matte light beige. I say that it completes the palette because it can be used as a base color or for blending out harsh lines. Since it is matte it is a great under the eyebrow highlight shade. Using this shade helps make the eye shadows look more together in an eye look.
Dog Roses 
This shade is awesome! It is perfect for adding dimension just like santeria. This one I like to use in the outer corners and into the creases. It is a nice shimmery bronze color. 

FORMULA

I use a variety of makeup brushes, with Sigma being the main ones for applying eye shadows. When I first dipped my brush in these shadows for the first time, the shadows seemed very powdery. Yes, they may be more powdery, but I still think they have amazing quality. They’re super soft and very blendable. I find these shades to be super pigmented. Now that I know better, I barely tap my brush into the shades because a little goes a long way. Using too much shadow on your brush will cause more of a mess and will also cause more fall-out. These eye shadows aren’t my favorite formulation, but honestly this palette is still amazing.

FOTD

IMG_1289 IMG_1301

IMG_1382

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


If I had the choice to go back into time at the day at Sephora, I would still purchase this lovely palette. I love that I got to try a Kat Von D palette. The colors are amazing! This palette is a favorite of mine right now! It is simply gorgeous! Overall, I am quite impressed with this palette. I’m very excited to have it in my collection and I definitely see myself grabbing for it numerous times this Spring and Summer.

I really hope you all enjoyed this palette review! Let me know if you have tried this palette or if you have tried any other Kat Von D palettes. I have heard a lot of great things about her other makeup items that she has such as her liquid eyeliner and her tattoo foundation. Comment and let me know if you like eye shadow palette reviews and which one you would like to see next. Also, what do you think of my new graphic I made?

Also, don’t forget to check out my previous posts from this month during the #30daysofthebeautydeputy

Day 14: Soap & Glory Endless Glove

Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus

Day 12: The Spring Tag

Day 11: Beauty Box 5

Day 10: Discuss with Me #3

Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap Spring Box

Day 8: No 3 month No-Buy

Day 7: My Weekend & an Ulta Sale

Day 6: Tag 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make

Day 5: Only One Tag

Day 4: GIVEAWAY

Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Natural Lip Balm

Day 2: March Favorites

Day 1: Beauty & Fashion Spring Picks Blog Hop

Follow me! Bloglovin Twitter Facebook Instagram

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!!

#30daysofthebeautydeputy

#thebeautydeputy

Blogging signature

 

27 thoughts on “Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review

  1. I kept going back and forth about this palette. I’ve always been extremely impressed with her eyeshadows, but I never really wanted to pick up this palette. Maybe I should! Gorgeous colors!

  2. Very pretty colors, perfect for spring! I like what that “transformer” shade does and the package is adorable

  3. I’ve never tried any of Kat Von D’s stuff, but have always wanted to. This pallete is perfect for me! They’re exactly the colors I love and include shimmer; yay! I’m going to have to see if it’s still available at Sephora next time I go, or order it online. It’s divine!

    • Sounds like there will be a Sephora purchase from you in the future. Let me know if you decide to get this palette. Yes, I totally recommend it. If you love colorful eye looks then you would love this palette. Shimmer is awesome!

  4. Pingback: Day 16: The Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup! | The Beauty Deputy

  6. Pingback: Day 18: Making Easter Goodies! | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 20: Happy Easter!!!! Plus The Beauty Scenario Tag | The Beauty Deputy

  9. Pingback: Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products… | The Beauty Deputy

  10. Pingback: Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review | The Beauty Deputy

  11. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  12. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  13. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  14. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  15. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  16. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  17. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  18. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

