Home » Fortune Cookie Soap » Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap: Spring Box 2014

Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap: Spring Box 2014

 

IMG_0985

I was really excited to receive this yummy smelling package in my mailbox. I’ve had it for awhile and am finally sitting down to do this post. I even felt like skipping this post because I got it awhile ago, but I just couldn’t. I can’t do my Fall box, my Winter box, and then skip my Spring box. Nope not happening! I think the reason that it took me so long to write it is, I just wasn’t feeling Spring yet. Even though at the time, I could have probably skipped to Summer because the Winter was terrible this year. A few of my items were actually frozen so I had to un-thaw them! Now I am definitely feeling Spring. If you don’t know what Fortune Cookie Soap is, then you should check them out. You can find their website here. FCS is a lot like Lush, Bath and Body Works, and The Body Shop. The thing that sets them apart from the others is that they send out little subscriptions boxes 4 times per year. This is my third time receiving a box from them. Four times a year FCS comes out with new product launches so this subscription service gives the subscriber a little heads up on what the new products are.

THE THEME
Something that I love about Fortune Cookie Soap is that they always seem to have a theme for their boxes and product launches. This new product launch theme is called, “The Garden of Good & Evil” My last soap box dealt with the movie, “The Nightmare Before Christmas.”

Check out my previous FCS boxes! The Quarter Quell collection was a separate collection that I ordered from when Catching Fire was in theaters.

 

THE PRODUCTS (All the descriptions are from the card included in the box)

IMG_1003

THE GOODS: Rainbows! Butterflies! Fig leaf bikinis! We’re not gonna lie, The Goods gave us a run for our money. 🙂 But we think we’ve done “The Garden of Good justice, with three fragrances that are pure, angelic, and virginal. You know, all that”good” stuff! 

IMG_1001

1) Native Nectar Body Wash: Fresh cracked coconut. No machete required.

IMG_0988

Reading the description of the product, I thought I would hate it. Good news, I really liked the scent of this body wash and I have already used this up. If I needed a body wash, I would purchase this one. I’m not going to because I already have a few other body washes and soaps to use up before repurchasing any others. I didn’t really smell that much coconut in it which is a good thing because I’m usually don’t like coconut scents. This just reminds me of fresh Spring air. It moisturizes the skin surprisingly well. It doesn’t lather as well as other body washes, but I think that is a good thing because those types tend to strip the skin more.
2) Afternoon Delight OCD: Pink watermelon dancing with fresh apricots, crowned in white florals.

IMG_0991

I loved the scent of this OCD or hand sanitizer! It is my favorite scent out of the box. I wish that this scent came in more than just this. It reminds me more of Summer because of the fresh watermelon scent. The apricots and the white florals added to the watermelon makes the scent amazing. The OCD is also not drying like normal hand sanitzers. So I just searched their site and I have good and bad news. The good news: they have this scent in pretty much every FSC soap product I could think of. The bad news: I’m on a no buy. Oh well! Another bad news: I can’t find where I put this lovely OCD.
3) Marshmallow Dreams Cuticle Butter: Lavender sprigs draped over sage and basil, livened with a splash of vodka, and a swirl of sticky, sweet marshmallow fluff.

IMG_0995 IMG_0996

I really like this product because of the consistency. It reminds me of Lemony Flutter from Lush, but just with a different scent. It is super moisturizing for the cuticles. This jar will last forever because it has a very thick formula and a little bit goes a long way. The scent is very light and refreshing. This stuff is not sticky and is honestly a perfect consistency. Once again, FCS made a great product!

 

THE EVILS: Yeah, Baby! It’s the strangest thing, but once we started on The Evil’s they just came naturally. Weird, huh? 😉 We don’t know what Evil smells like, but we’re betting it goes something like this…

IMG_1002

1) Make it Rain Whipped Cream: Grab your umbrella! Sparkling droplets of citrus & jasmine dripping with musk, clutched by bloated cedarwood boughs.

IMG_0989

I love FCS whipped creams. They’re super moisturizing and they’re one of my favorite products to apply on my hands. They remind me of The Body Shops body butters. The consistency of this product is light and fluffy. I do like the scent as well, but it isn’t my all time favorite scent. It reminds me of being outside and it is very earthy smelling. I would not repurchase this item in this scent, but I would of course purchase this in the Afternoon Delight scent.
2) Forbidden Fruit Fortune Cookie Soap: Dusky verbena creeping over fresh blueberry skins and lemon zest.

IMG_0998

Love these soaps! I think that these little soaps are very unique. A soap shaped like a Fortune Cookie and than a business named after them. The scent is amazing! It is very fruity and just amazing! This is my second favorite scent from the Spring collection. I have not used this yet, but I plan to sometime soon!
3) Me so Thorny Steam Me Up Scotty! Me love you long time! Sorry, I couldn’t resist! Citrus, lavender and french vanilla corrupted by a dark shadow of patchouli & sandalwood.

IMG_0992 IMG_0993

I actually threw this guy away without using it because I did not like the scent. It was way too strong. I could definitely smell the patchouli. These are a nice product to have because you use them just throwing it on the floor during a hot shower.

4) The Bloom Bloom Room Bath Fizzy: A strip club for flowers?? I wanna go! A sinfully sweet combination of Jasmine, Lilac, and Lily of the Valley darkened with throbbing musical notes of fresh peach & citrus, all swirling around poles of decadent spun sugar.

IMG_0994

These remind of Lush’s bath bombs, but this one is much smaller. They of course also have big ones like Lush in case you were wondering. I have yet to use this, but I’m not too fond of the scent. It is sort of strong, but it isn’t a bad scent or anything. I really like the fruity notes in the scent, but I feel like the floral is a little to overpowering.

5) Venus Fly Trap Perfume Oil: Bergamot, narcaisse & musk lurk beneath delicate notes of water orchid, sparkling lemon & pink jasmine.

Sadly, I lost this little guy. I wasn’t too impressed with the packaging. I was scared I would spill it all over, so I never smelled it when I initially opened my package. Soon after that it was lost. I really wish that I could find it because I looked at some reviews online and it has a few awesome reviews!

IMG_0999

 

So that concludes this Fortune Cookie Soap box post! Overall, I was quite impressed. I really love Fortune Cookie Soap and I love supporting smaller businesses. My favorite scents were the Afternoon Delight OCD and the Forbidden Fruit FCS. My least favorite was the Steam me Up Scotty. I love receiving these boxes each and every season. I look forward to receiving my Summer box. They also have an adorable Easter collection going on right now, along with some Harry Potter items that were resurrected for Easter. Comment and let me know if you have tried Fortune Cookie Soap and what you’re favorite products are! I love reading your comments!

Follow me! Bloglovin Twitter Facebook Instagram

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!!

#30daysofthebeautydeputy

Blogging signature

 

30 thoughts on “Day 9: Fortune Cookie Soap: Spring Box 2014

  1. Looks amazing! I’m always jealous that you guys get this in America. Don’t think there’s anything like it in the UK.

    • I think that they do ship this box international. Actually now that I think about it, they do. It is more expensive. I talked about pricing in my first blog post (The Fall Soap Box). That is sad that they don’t have many subscription box services for you. There are a ton over here!

      • Ooh interesting..however, the shipping costs may put me off. I’ll look into it though. Yes, we only have a few beauty boxes 😦 shame really

  2. I LOVE FCS! My favorite item out of this box was the cuticle butter! That marshmallow goodness smell had me going crazy! It also was so buttery! Their lotion formulas cannot be beat; amazing moisture, great rub-in-ability (lol) and just perfect! Great review and awesome pics!

  3. Pingback: Day 10: Discuss with Me #3 | The Beauty Deputy

  4. Pingback: Day 11: April 2014 Beauty Box 5 Shades of Beauty | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 12: The Spring Tag! | The Beauty Deputy

    • I really like fcs! One of my favorites! I love their body butters! They always come out with cool new products! So yes I recommend it. You can look at my other posts and see if it is something you would like.

  6. Pingback: Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus! | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 14: Box Swap Item #4 Soap & Glory Endless Glove | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review | The Beauty Deputy

  9. Pingback: Day 16: The Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep | The Beauty Deputy

  10. Pingback: Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup! | The Beauty Deputy

  11. Pingback: Day 18: Making Easter Goodies! | The Beauty Deputy

  12. Pingback: Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks | The Beauty Deputy

  13. Pingback: Day 20: Happy Easter!!!! Plus The Beauty Scenario Tag | The Beauty Deputy

  14. Pingback: Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products… | The Beauty Deputy

  15. Pingback: Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review | The Beauty Deputy

  16. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  17. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  18. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  19. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  20. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  21. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  22. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  23. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

