Home » Tags » Day 6: TAG 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make!

Day 6: TAG 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make!

I saw this tag going around Youtube, and I thought it would be a cool tag to do. Right now I’m thinking of the new
Christina Perri song, “Human” because we are all only human. We make mistakes! We may be in a hurry and do things that maybe we shouldn’t. So here are my list of beauty mistakes that I used to make. Honestly, sometimes I still do make them.

HAIR

1) Not using a heat protector
I am very guilty of not using a heat protector. I hardly ever curl my hair or use a hair straightener, but I do a lot of blow drying. Even that is harsh on hair! I’ve been using the Tresemme heat protector. Recently I got a free Take 10 from Ulta and one of the 10 things that apparently this does is protect from heat.

2) How I shampooed my hair
I used to put shampoo in my hands and then start on the top of my head. Doing that usually ended up with tons of tangles. The best way to shampoo your hair is to start at the middle part of the hair to the ends and work the shampoo up to the roots without turning it into a rats nest.

3) I used the wrong brush when my hair was wet
I have been super mean to my hair! Taking a hot shower makes hair fragile. Nobody likes a cold shower, unless it’s a super hot day! Taking a hot shower opens up the hair follicles making breakage easier. So using the wrong brush was not good for my hair. Sometimes yes we are in a hurry and we can’t wait for our hair to dry some before brushing it. Maybe do your makeup first? I decided to toss my normal brush and I ordered a new type of brush: the tangle teezer! I will be doing a review on these brushes sometime coming up.

NAILS

4) Basecoat? What’s that?
I never used a basecoat! Then I would be annoyed when I took my polish off and my nails were stained. This is mostly on my toes, because especially during the summer I wear nail polish all the time. Some of those brighter colors have a tendency to stain those nails! So use a base coat!

5) Laziness on actually taking the polish off
Just go get that nail polish remover instead of doing what I used to do! Don’t peel that polish off the nail bed. It isn’t good for them! I’m very guilty of this recently because I got a gel manicure and it started peeling off. I’m sort of OCD so I peeled some of it off before I got to the store to get acetone remover! Naughty me! My nails looked awful after that! They’re getting better now and plus I’ve been taking Biotin.

SKINCARE

6) Being mean to my under-eyes
This skin is fragile! FRAGILE! I used to have dry eyes and I used to rub my eyes. NO NO! Naughty me! That causes premature wrinkles! Wish I could take that back because I don’t want wrinkles! Also, I used to use my pointer finger to apply under eye lotion or concealer. No! Use that ring finger because it is the weakest finger on the hand.

MAKEUP

7)Β Applying concealer
I used to apply concealer the wrong way. I would apply it under the eyes, but then I was rub it in lightly. It is better to tap (using that ring finger) or a brush and blend it in. Rubbing the concealer in defeats the purpose. Tapping it in makes for a much better finish.

8) Powder powder!Β 
I would apply my concealer and not set it with powder. Then it would crease and my mascara would go all over my under-eyes. Soon I looked like a panda! Now that I set my concealer with powder, the longevity of my mascara is so much longer. I don’t use powder for oily skin ( I have dry skin), but use it for pulling the look together.

9) Eye-shadow problems
When I first started getting into eye-shadow, I wasn’t sure on the best way to apply it. I would place it on the brush and sweep it across the lid. Doing it that way caused for more fall-out. To get the best pigmentation and the least amount of fall-out placing the shadow on the brush and then patting the eyelid works the best for me. Then after that use a blending brush to blend out the harsh lines.

10) Washing those makeup brushes…
I think that this is a mistake that a lot of people make. I do wash my makeup brushes, just not as often as I should. Not washing them can cause germs and then dipping them into shadows places germs in the shadows. Ick! I really need to wash my brushes again. Here is a beauty mistake that I still do make. I will be doing a post on how I wash my makeup brushes in the future!

Phew! I’m to #10! Comment and let me know if you are guilty of these mistakes! Consider yourself tagged if you’re reading this because I think that it is fun reading this tag! Comment down below and leave a link when you do this tag or if you have already done it.

People that I specifically tag..

  • All the lovely bloggers from the Facebook group Beauty and Fashion Blog Community. Here is a link to this group here. Request an invite to be part of this lovely community!
  • All the lovely bloggers from the Facebook group Minnesota Bloggers! ❀ Minnesota!
  • Effie Wright
  • The Little Scottish Corner
  • The Oxford Owl
  • Beauty Blogger Goddess
  • DebE
  • Caryl Almelor
  • Randomness I Like

Blogging signature

 

34 thoughts on “Day 6: TAG 10 Beauty Mistakes I Used to Make!

  1. I think we’ve all made a lot of mistakes!! Loved this post. It’s fun seeing how much we’ve all learned since we first started along in our beauty journey. -Christine

    • I definitely will! I hate washing them, but it is a must! I will definitely wash them tomorrow. I let my niece put makeup on me today and she got a lot of extra eye-shadow in them lol. She is 6. That will be another post coming up!

  2. I am definitely not kind to my under-eyes, but how are you supposed to remove eye makeup COMPLETELY while still being gentle to them? I use those little eye makeup remover disks and even though I don’t use waterproof mascara, I still have to rub kind of hard sometimes. My poor eyes. )-:

    • Oh yes I know what you mean! Try not to rub, but tap instead if that makes sense. I use the Philosophy Purity 3 in 1 cleanser and my makeup usually comes off with just using that. Also, I have a wash cloth from Norwex that I use that is really soft.

  3. I never use a basecoat for nail polish… I guess I never take my polish off for more than the five minutes it takes to change colors, so this isn’t too bad?

    • Not using a base coat stained my nails, but if you don’t need to use it that is great! I just prefer to because brighter colors tend to stain my nails. I also tend to leave my toenail polish on for awhile because it never chips.

  4. Pingback: Day 10: Discuss with Me #3 | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 11: April 2014 Beauty Box 5 Shades of Beauty | The Beauty Deputy

  6. Pingback: Day 12: The Spring Tag! | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus! | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 14: Box Swap Item #4 Soap & Glory Endless Glove | The Beauty Deputy

  9. Pingback: Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review | The Beauty Deputy

  10. Pingback: Day 16: The Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep | The Beauty Deputy

  11. Pingback: Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup! | The Beauty Deputy

  12. Pingback: Day 18: Making Easter Goodies! | The Beauty Deputy

  13. Pingback: Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks | The Beauty Deputy

  14. Pingback: Day 20: Happy Easter!!!! Plus The Beauty Scenario Tag | The Beauty Deputy

  15. Pingback: Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products… | The Beauty Deputy

  16. Pingback: Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review | The Beauty Deputy

  17. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  18. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  19. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  20. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  21. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  22. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  23. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  24. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

