Home » Lips » Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Lip Balm Review

Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Lip Balm Review

So with it being Winter/almost Spring out (or supposed to be Spring out?), my lips get dry, especially during working at a hospital. I would go insane without a trusty lip balm in my pocket at work or even at home! I always wear a lip balm at night. Carmex being one of them. Have you ever looked at the ingredient list on your lip balms? For example the ingredient list for a lip balm from the brand ChapStick : arachidyl propionate, camphor, carnauba wax, cetyl alcohol, D&C red no. 6 barium lake, FD&C yellow no. 5 aluminum lake, fragrance, isopropyl lanolate, isopropyl myristate, lanolin, light mineral oil, methylparaben, octyldodecanol, oleyl alcohol, paraffin, phenyl trimethicone, propylparaben, titanium dioxide, white wax. Information and photo found here under the see the label section. Those are just the inactive ingredients!

original_5(1)

How about Burt Bee’s?

That has to be good right because it’s considered a natural company.

Here is the ingredient list:

Beeswax, cera alba (beeswax, cire d’abeille), cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, lanolin, tocopherolrosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, glycine soja (soybean) oil, canola oil (huile de colza), limonene. Information and photo found here.

Beeswax Lip Balm

Much better, but it could get better right??

Lanolin is a wax taken from sheep’s wool and is used in creams, waxes, or oils. Information on Lanolin found here. Sounds kind of gross doesn’t it?

I don’t even want to know what is in Carmex!!!

So here comes the point of this post! I’ve known Miranda since Kindergarten! That is 20 years ago! Miranda started an Etsy shop by making her own homemade lip balm. I got fed up with all the nasty ingredients in products, I decided that I needed to try them out! She has quite a few high raves on her Esty site. She calls her shop Miranda’s Tangerine. You can find her Etsy website here. This review is going to be an honest and I’m not just going to give her a good review because I’ve known her since Kindergarten.

What Miranda says about her lip balms, “These specially hand brewed NATURAL balms penetrate the sensitive skin on your lips to hydrate and soothe. Smooth out cracked and scaly skin. After a few days of using exclusively, your lips will look and feel soft without feeling the need to use over and over again. It has a silky smooth texture, and penetrates your lips to keep them soft and allows them to STAY soft. No waxy fillers that just sit on top of your skin, just natural ingredients.”

A LITTLE BREAKDOWN INTO MY EXPERIENCE

Ordering

It was super easy to order. I just signed up for Esty and shopped in her shop, checked out like normal, and got a confirmation email.

Shipping

Came super fast, especially the second time I ordered. My lip balms came in a super safe bubble envelope.

Pricing

I think that the price is very reasonable for each tube only being $2. Remember this lip balm is handmade. She sometimes has promos going on as well!

Types

  • Tangerine
  • Lime
  • Eucalyptus
  • Peppermint
  • Advocacy Lip Balm (comes in 4 scents: lime, tangerine eucalyptus, mint and plain!)

Packaging

Packaging is super cute and simple!

IMG_1505

A sweet treat

IMG_1507

What the lip balm looks like. They are all the same color.

IMG_1504

Comes with a safety seal which is always a good thing to have.

IMG_1509

THE EXTRA TOUCH

It was nice of Miranda to add in her business card. In case I need to order more, I will have her website. 🙂

IMG_1498

Hand crafted in Duluth, MN!!

IMG_1497

Ingredients
Here is where the fun part comes in! The ingredients! Remember all the nasty ingredients from the ones listed above?!?

IMG_1502

Eucalyptus & Lime Ingredients

IMG_1501

Peppermint & Tangerine

Refer to below for my thoughts on the ingredients.

Advocacy Lip Balm Information 

The cause: “Female circumcision is internationally considered a violent mutilation and violation of human rights yet the United States still forcibly cuts the foreskins off of baby boys every day without medical indication. Routine infant circumcision presents a vast list of complications during infancy and adulthood, including difficulty breastfeeding, hemorrhaging, shock, adhesion, loss of sensitivity, erectile dysfunction, even death. The list goes on. We simply believe that male, female and intersex alike have the right to a whole and natural body. His body, his choice. ” From Miranda’s Tangerine’s site here.

Some links provided on her site to learn more:

“Each tube is $2.00. Miranda’s Tangerine will donate $2.00 for every lip balm sold to Intact Minnesota. These funds are used for expo registration fees and informational materials to hand to Minnesota residents during expos and fairs through out the area.”

IMG_1503

I got mine in Peppermint.

Facebook Page
Miranda’s Tangerine also has a Facebook page. You can find it here.

My Thoughts
I love love that there are ingredients that I don’t have to be a scientist to know what they are!! Or use Google to search information about a certain ingredient. She also uses organic products which is also a plus such as: beeswax and virgin coconut oil. I love that the scent comes from essential oils and not weird chemical scents. It’s all natural and it feels natural unlike Carmex. The first time I opened one of these and applied it on my lips, I was in lime heaven! They all smell amazing and very refreshing! I love how they felt when applying them to my lips. They’re very smooth and very moisturizing! My lips felt amazing! They did not feel sticky at all after application. I do wish that the balmy feel of it lasted longer, but my lips did feel smooth after it wore off. That just means I can enjoy applying this lovely natural lip balm again and go into lime heaven! My lips were super dry before trying these out and these helped quite a bit, especially during the winter months. This paired with my Lush lip scrub! When I would apply these lip balms during the night, my lips would feel super soft when I woke up. I definitely have one of these by my bed, my pocket at work, and one in my purse. I would have to say my favorite is lime, and tangerine comes in close second. Eucalyptus smells good as well, but it isn’t my favorite either so usually it is the last one I grab for. Peppermint is lovely as well, reminds me of those red/white swirl peppermint candies. I sent one of these along with on my US to UK box swap.

Pros

  • Natural
  • Hand-crafted
  • Moisturizing
  • Smooth feeling on the lips

Cons

  • Longevity
  • No SPF
  • The seam going down the tube lifts up a tiny bit and collects fuzz, dust, etc

Overall, I am very impressed with this natural lip balm. I like what it stands for! Simple & Natural just like the business card says! Comment and let me know if you have tried these lip balms out. What do you think of the ingredients? What is your normal lip balm that you use? Comment and let me know!

GIVEAWAY

My 6 month Blogiversary is coming up! So I will be doing a giveaway! These little lovelies will be included in that giveaway! Make sure to check back during this whole month for 30 days of The Beauty Deputy in celebration!!

Blogging signature

 

Follow me! Bloglovin  Twitter Facebook

 

 

24 thoughts on “Day 3: Miranda’s Tangerine Lip Balm Review

  1. Thanks so much for reviewing my lip balm! ❤ It was such a fun read! I like how you compared store bought lip balm ingredients too, I honestly never realized how much was in a chapstick tube bought at the store, wowza! Thanks for including the advocacy information as well, I bet it clicked with your friends from Europe right away!

    xoxo!
    Miranda

    • Thanks for the comment Miranda! Your lip balms are amazing! ❤ Yeah it is gross thinking about all the ingredients they put in store bought items. You're welcome about including the advocacy information, it is something that I agree with!

  2. Pingback: Day 10: Discuss with Me #3 | The Beauty Deputy

  3. Pingback: Day 11: April 2014 Beauty Box 5 Shades of Beauty | The Beauty Deputy

  4. Pingback: Day 12: The Spring Tag! | The Beauty Deputy

  5. Pingback: Day 13: My Top 10 Youtube Beauty Gurus! | The Beauty Deputy

  6. Pingback: Day 14: Box Swap Item #4 Soap & Glory Endless Glove | The Beauty Deputy

  7. Pingback: Day 15: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette Review | The Beauty Deputy

  8. Pingback: Day 16: The Wizard of Oz Collection by Julep | The Beauty Deputy

  9. Pingback: Day 17: My Niece Does my Makeup! | The Beauty Deputy

  10. Pingback: Day 18: Making Easter Goodies! | The Beauty Deputy

  11. Pingback: Day 19: April 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag Beauty Rocks | The Beauty Deputy

  12. Pingback: Day 20: Happy Easter!!!! Plus The Beauty Scenario Tag | The Beauty Deputy

  13. Pingback: Day 21: What I would buy if I had $500-$1000 to spend on beauty products… | The Beauty Deputy

  14. Pingback: Day 22: Lush Charity Pot Lotion Review | The Beauty Deputy

  15. Pingback: Day 23: My Essie Nail Polish Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  16. Pingback: Day 24: Watch Mirya, my Shiba Inu, Grow! | The Beauty Deputy

  17. Pingback: Day 25: Pacifica Color Quench Lip Tint Review | The Beauty Deputy

  18. Pingback: Day 26!! Get Ready with Me: A Girl’s Night Out Blog Hop!!! | The Beauty Deputy

  19. Pingback: Day 27: An OOTD and FOTD! | The Beauty Deputy

  20. Pingback: Day 28 Box Swap Item: Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner by Collection | The Beauty Deputy

  21. Pingback: Day 29 Julep Birthstone Collection: April! | The Beauty Deputy

  22. Pingback: Day 30: April Monthly Favorites!!!! The Final Day of The 30 Days of The Beauty Deputy! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

