Home » Blogging » Discuss with Me #2

Discuss with Me #2

Discuss with me

Recently,  I started a Discuss With Me series because I really love engaging with my blogging community. I love reading each and everyone of my followers’ comments. They really make my day brighter! Last Discuss with Me, I wanted to know: if you could be a spokesperson for any makeup brand which one would you pick. I thought it was a lot of fun reading what you all had to say to this question. So I decided to continue this series of posts. Well, my new question for this week is…

Would you rather be deaf or blind? You can’t say neither by the way!!!!!

I know this isn’t really makeup related, but I thought it would be an interesting question to ask.

My answer is I would rather be deaf. When I was a baby (2 months old), I got Spinal Meningitis. I luckily survived without any problems. But, my parents later shared with me that if I was 2 weeks older, they would have had to give me a different antibiotic and that would most likely make me deaf. I am really lucky! At that same time, there was another baby that wasn’t as lucky as I was. My parents have told me that they thank the doctor that they brought me to because he saved my life. Therefore, he is my hero! I’ve never met this doctor. But, my parents believe that if they would have brought me to a different doctor, I may not be here. I ended up having a 105.4 F temperature or 40.8 C and an IV in my head.

Here are some pictures of my scrap book that my mom made. My brothers made me a nice card!

IMG_1375 IMG_1374

One of my favorite shows is called, “Switched at Birth.” One of the main characters became deaf after meningitis. I think that is what really got me intrigued with this show. Since this show, I have bought an American Sign Language book, and right now, I am working on learning the alphabet.

Also, if you have been watching Dancing with the Stars, the contestant Amy Purdy, who is a US Paralympic Team Snowboarder, lost her legs by contracting a form of bacterial meningitis. She now has prosthetic legs and I think that it is amazing that she can dance like that! I know this doesn’t have to do with being deaf or blind. I just thought I would share that with you!

I think that being blind would be really hard. Not being able to see things and the beauty of this world would be harder for me. If I lost my hearing, playing my flute and my guitar would not be the same. I also listen to music quite frequently. But, I would rather give that up, than not being able to see. A favorite movie of mine is called, “At First Sight” and it is based on a true story about a blind man. If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it. It is a little long, but worthwhile in the end.

Comment down below and let me know what you would choose.

Blogging signature

12 thoughts on “Discuss with Me #2

  1. I don’t know which one, I suppose deaf?
    You can not see the world if you are blind.
    You are still able to do normal things (with a bit of difficulty) but you can do mostly everything if you are deaf. e.g.: drive, watch tv, look on computer etc..

    Either one has it’s great difficulty though.

    That is a very good question though!
    Really makes you think about what you have.
    x

  2. Well first let me say, I am glad everything worked out for you and that you had the doctor you were meant to have.
    Secondly, of course I love having my hearing because like you, music is a big part of my life and I can’t imagine not having it in my life.
    However, being as I am a cartoonist/artist/writer it is obvious why I need and would pick to keep my eye sight. lol

  3. Wow! What an amazing story! So unbelievable that 2 weeks would have made such a difference! I would much rather be deaf, there is so much beauty to be seen! xoxo

  4. I think I’d rather be deaf too – as everybody else said, there is far too much beauty in this world, it would be too sad not to see it!
    On a personal level, I haven’t got great eyesight – it’s not that bad, only -3.25 in one eye and -2.75 in the other – but sometimes I have nightmares where I can’t see at all, and it’s the worst thing ever. I’ve never had a nightmare where I’m deaf.
    I think also with sign language (as opposed to Braille), there’s still a bit of creativity in how you communicate – I’d feel as if I could make funny things up with sign language, or piece words together to express what I meant better. With Braille as a method of communication, I feel as if it would be harder to be creative in the same way. It’s a means of spelling, rather than an ever-evolving language, if that makes sense?
    Interesting question though – you’ve definitely made us all think!

    • I totally understand the creativity behind it! I love watching switched at birth. They had an entire episode in just sign language, of course they had subtitles. Also awhile ago on a class field trip a classmate of mine ran into her parents friend and her parents are both deaf. So she started signing to this friend. It was amazing! That’s not a good dream!

      • Ooh that’s cool! And it would be amazing to be able to start signing to other people – I think my sister knows how to do ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’ and some of the alphabet but that’s about as far as it goes. Apparently some children with special needs also use sign language to communicate, although I’m not sure why. My sister volunteered at a special school and there were children with Down’s Syndrome who used to sign a lot, rather than speak. It’s so interesting to learn about!

      • I guess if you get stuck you could always spell the word using the alphabet. That’s what my sister and I do sometimes, but then I get confused and say things like “uh…is that an h or an s?” It’s great that you’ve got a book already!

  5. Pingback: Day 10: Discuss with Me #3 | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

