Home » Beauty Box 5 » March Beauty Box 5: Spring Cleaning!

March Beauty Box 5: Spring Cleaning!

I have been getting Ipsy for months. I just posted my March Box post yesterday. I’ve also tried Birchbox, but have canceled that one awhile ago. Now I decided, why not try Beauty Box 5. There was a promo going on where the first month’s box was free so I decided I would try it out and cancel if I didn’t like it. Well, this is my third box. I haven’t gotten around to doing the other reviews from my previous boxes, and now it is already time for March’s box. This box is $12 a month and sends out beauty samples.

What Beauty Box 5 says about their boxes, “Every month we’ll send you a mix of makeup, beauty accessories, hair, skincare, fragrance, body, and nail products and we can’t get enough of. Our secret? We share products that really work, so you’ll receive luxury, drugstore, niche, eco-conscious, and even vegan brands.” Information found on their website here.

This is how the BB5 comes, in a cute little mint green box. It looks more turquoise in the photo, but I assure you that it is mint green in real life.

20140319-152028.jpg

This month’s theme is Spring Cleaning! Out with the old, in with the new! 

20140319-164012.jpg

An overview of all the products included and also their retail prices.

20140319-152039.jpg

I know the writing is small, so I will write the retail value and description down below.

Everything all together!

20140319-152146.jpg

Item #1: Jane’s Pick All Natural Soaps
Retail: $8.00 for 5 oz
Description: Get clean without the chemicals! Made from an all-natural blend infused with herbs and flowers, these pretty soaps are handmade, so each bar has a unique pattern and relaxing scent. BB5 tip: later up and use this instead of shaving cream! #Janespick

I was excited to receive a natural soap. I love Lush products, but they’re not as natural as others. This soap only has 6 ingredients (Italian olive oil, Senegal shea butter, hemp seed oil, coconut oil, palm oil, & avocado oil) and essential oils. There are 8 kinds listed on the back, but nothing is checkmarked, so I’m unsure of what kind I got. I am also horrible at playing, “name that scent” game. *Goes and looks it up on their website to find the answer.* It look like I got Kind, which is orange, tangerine, and vanilla. It isn’t the best scent I’ve smelled, but it isn’t awful either. I mostly smell the tangerines in it, but I also smell something earthy that I’m not sure what it is. Overall, I do like that it is natural, but wish the scent was a little better.

20140319-152100.jpg

20140319-152106.jpg

Item #2 Tree Hut Shea Body Butter 
Retail: $7.49 7 oz. (Size included was: 2 US oz. (57 g))
Description: Treat your body to the best! Extra thick and paraben free, this lotion deep conditions your skin with cocoa and organic shea butter, provides natural anti-aging properties, and puts us in the mood to party with lime and coconut extract. #treehut

When I first read this, I said, “Oh great, not coconut.” I have been turned away by products because of powerful coconut smells. Well, I have good news for you! This body butter smells amazing! It has the right amount of coconut and lime making the scent amazing! I am really impressed with it this product so far. It still does have a lot of ingredients that I don’t have a clue about, but at least it’s paraben free. I’m still annoyed at Lush for having parabens in their lotions! This body butter is super moisturizing and isn’t greasy. I hate when lotions are super greasy!!!

20140319-152047.jpg

20140319-152054.jpg

Item #3 Bellapierre Cosmetics Makeup Base 
Retail: $18.99 0.29 oz (Size included was:  0.25 oz/7 GR)
Description: Every girl deserves an all-in-one that hides imperfections and makes her makeup even better, This pretty ivory base is great when you’re low on time (or room in your purse), and serves as a concealer, illuminator, and eyeshadow primer! #bellapierreusa

I have never tried anything from this brand. I have not tried this product yet, but it seems like it will match my skin color well. I did swatch it on my hand. I think that it will work well as an eye-shadow base, but I might try as a concealer for curiosity. Also, this product is cruelty free which I love!

20140319-152112.jpg

20140319-152118.jpg

Item #4 H2O Plus Hand & Hail Cream
Retail: $15.00 6 oz (Size included was:30 ml or 1 oz)
Description: Proven to soften even the roughest hands, this award-winning lotion is lightweight, non-greasy, and restores your skin with silk proteins, Vitamin E, and marine botanicals. A definite must-have for any time of the year. #h2oplus.

This is a white lotion that scent reminds me of the ocean. The scent is pretty strong and some might not like it, but it doesn’t bother me. Most likely because it includes marine botanicals. The cream isn’t very creamy and sort of hard to blend into the hands. Although, it does seem moisturizing, but not as well as the Tree Hut Body Butter. I will have to try this on my nails and see how I like using it there.

20140319-152138.jpg

Item #5 Swissco Dual-Sided Facial Pad
Retail: $2.00 One Size
Description: Achieving softer skin and smaller pores is as easy as exfoliating a few times a week! Just add your favorite cleanser to the pad, gently buff that pretty face, and kiss lackluster skin goodbye! #swisscolic.

I have yet to try this facial pad. It seems like a nice dual sided pad, with one side being a soft terry, and the other exfoliates with natural loofah. This thing with an item like this is, make sure to replace it often, because items like these can grow germs. I will definitely give it a try and see if I get softer skin.

20140319-152132.jpg

So that concludes the 5 items that I got.

I thought it would be interesting to share a photo of both my January and February boxes since I never got the post done.

January: I was really disappointed with my first box. The lip balm was super coconutty that I ended up throwing that one away. My dog got a hold of the mirror and chewed it up, so that went into the garbage, which I am not sad about. I have yet to try the other items which included: a lotion, a top coat, a body wash, and exfoliating gloves.

20140319-172523.jpg

February: This month’s box was a little better, but not great. It came with some nail polishes, which in my opinion felt a little cheap. I may be basing that off the fact that they couldn’t even get the sticker on the bottle properly. I have yet to try this nail polish. I am not a fan of shampoo and condiotner packets so that was a miss for me. Also, it came with a body wash sample from Aveeno which was a good item to get. Last item was a mascara, which I have received before in a previous Ipsy bag. I have yet to try that mascara.

20140319-172548.jpg

After my February BB5, I decided that I would give them 2 more months (March & April) and decide if I want to cancel.
So what are my thoughts on March’s BB5?
This has been the best box so far by a lot! I am really loving the, Tree Hut Body Butter, and I am excited to try the other products. Overall, if I said in February that I was to give BB5 1 more month instead of 2, I would still see what April’s box has to offer. I am hoping that next month box is more based off of makeup and not skincare. Comment and let me know if you get Beauty Box 5 and what your thoughts are. Also, I want to know if you have tried any of the products listed.

Xoxo,

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy

11 thoughts on “March Beauty Box 5: Spring Cleaning!

  1. That soap scent sounds really nice. I’m also not into coconut scents but I think I’ll try this if I can find it in Walmart or Target.

    • If I was at the store and saw this scent (coconut lime) I would probably pass and look at their other scents, so I’m glad that I got this in my box because I really like it! Do they sell it at Walmart and Target? I’ve only seen it at Ulta, but then again I haven’t really been looking for it.

    • Lol, I have this one, Ipsy, and Julep. I used to have Birchbox. Which ones do you have? I did really like this month’s box, so I’m excited for next months. Hopefully it is a good one! I’ve seen the Tree Hut body butters before, but never bought one. But, if I was going to I probably wouldn’t have even looked into getting Coconut Lime, so I’m glad BB5 introduced me to it.

  2. Pingback: March 2014 Favorites! | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

