Home » Ipsy » March Ipsy Glam Bag: Destination Beauty

March Ipsy Glam Bag: Destination Beauty

I can’t believe it is already time for March’s Ipsy bag post! I am still in shock that it is March of 2014 and that means it will soon be April. But, that just means nice weather is coming?!? Here in Minnesota we had a few days of snow melting and 50 degree weather (which I call no jacket weather). Hello Spring!!! Then on Tuesday a snow storm! Come back Spring! My niece’s school was canceled again! This has been a horrible winter. Even my elderly patients at work who have gone through many winters have said that this one just keeps going and going and going! This has been one of the coldest winters that I remember! Sorry for my little rant, but it was well needed!

20140319-152303.jpg

No jacket! Decided to check out the Sugar Shack of Alex.

20140319-152311.jpg

Melting snow! You can see grass! Well…brown grass.

20140319-152322.jpg

Yay it’s melting!!!

Well all that brown grass is now covered with snow again. I am also sporting my winter jacket again.

Onto the fun part!!!

20140319-151911.jpg

I’m not really a fan of this month’s bag. I like that it is vinyl and can easily be cleaned if there is a spill (considering this month’s theme is destination beauty). I’m not a fan of the print. It is just too weird and out there for me. I have seen much better Ipsy bags. I think that they could have done something better for this month’s theme.

20140319-151918.jpg

Apparently, this print was exclusive to Ipsy, well… sorry Klari Reis, but I’m not a fan.

20140319-151924.jpg

This month’s Ipsy came with 4 items, usually there is 5-6.

20140319-151931.jpg

Item #1 Love in Rio Eye Shadow Trio  by Nyx
What Ipsy says, “Escape to Rio…if only with your eyes. Inspired by the non-stop action of this exotic city, these 3-color eye shadow palettes give you high-glam, go-anywhere intensity day and night thanks to their highly pigmented formulations. Hit the beach in natural nudes, then dance the night away with a shimmering sweep of juicy color from the dual-ended applicator. “

Let’s just say I would love to visit Rio one day! That would be so much fun! But, I was bummed to see this palette in my bag. I got Cabana Boy as my trio. Not because I have anything against Nyx or their eye shadows. I actually think that Nyx is a nice affordable brand. I do like their makeup but, I already have a palette of theirs like this. It isn’t exact, but would be duplicate shadow colors for me. I really wanted to get the other more colorful palette. I have not opened this one so I will not be showing you swatches. I plan on giving this trio away.

20140319-151937.jpg

Item #2 Marvelous Moxie Lipstick  by bareMinerals
What Ipsy says, “Make an impact with Marvelous Moxie™ Lipstick. Creamy, super-saturated, ultra-pigmented color glides on like butter for full coverage in a rich satin finish. Lips look fuller and more voluptuous. An infusion of minerals revitalizes lips for a healthy-looking pout, while a moisture-loaded hydrating complex helps to nourish and condition with Abyssinian Oil and Omega Fatty Acids for supple, baby-soft smoothness. All the while, an encapsulated vitamin A, C and E complex helps to deliver antioxidant defense, so you’re ready for anything—and everything. Learn more about Marvelous Moxie™ “

I was really excited to receive this little lipstick! It is adorable! I’ve also never really tried many bareMinerals products so this was a definite must! I got the color, Get Ready, which I find to be a perfect pink. I’m not big on wearing bold lips so this is the perfect color for me. I also think  it is perfect for Spring and Summer! I’ve used it a few times and so far I think that the application is easy, it feels smooth on the lips, and isn’t drying.

20140319-151948.jpg

20140319-151954.jpg

Item #3 Flawless Beauty Primer by Pixi
What Ipsy says, “The Pixi Beauty Flawless Beauty Primer is loaded with skin loving ingredients. Formula contains powerful anti-aging and skin fortifying benefits. Formula suitable for all skin types.”

I have been using the Porefessional primer from Benefit which I have been really liking. It will be interesting to see how this one compares. On the back of the product is promises a youthful glow so it will be interesting to see how it performs. It also promises even skin-tone and hydration. I did swatch it on my hand, and it did give a little bit of a shimmer effect.

20140319-151943.jpg

Item #4 Indigo Blue Eyeliner by Chella
What Ipsy says, “Experience Chella’s Eyeliner Pen, a formula so incredible and surprising it almost describes itself. Highly innovative, never-done before – this pigmented, non-staining eyeliner ink provides a sleek, high-intensity eye make-up that lasts all day. This silky eyeliner glides on to define, emphasize and embolden with long lasting vibrant color that stays on until you want it gone!”

Here is another item that I could have gone without, because I don’t generally use blue liquid eyeliner. I will still try it at least. I’ll admit that it is a very pretty blue, I’m just not sure if I could sport the blue eyeliner look. I would have rather received a different item such as the nail polish. But, oh well!

20140319-151959.jpg

20140319-152005.jpg

Overall, I thought my Ipsy bag was ok. I am excited about the lipstick and the Pixi primer, but the other items, not so much.

If I had my choice my bag would look like this….

 http://www.ipsy.com/product/p-hshpdva94blh1bpp/Be_a_Bombshell/Bora_Bora_Eyeshadow_Quad

http://www.ipsy.com/product/p-hshp3ekww1341afw/Nicole_by_OPI/Roughles

http://www.ipsy.com/product/p-hshp97bqrhh41b7s/Pacifica/Body_Butter

http://www.ipsy.com/product/p-hshp15jf60p91a44/bareMinerals/Marvelous_Moxie%E2%84%A2_Lipstick_in_Get_Ready

Comment and let me know what products you got in your Ipsy bag and what you thought of them!

Xoxo

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy

8 thoughts on “March Ipsy Glam Bag: Destination Beauty

  1. The same thing with us in NH…the snow was melting and all that jazz and today I wake up and theres 2 inches of new snow on the ground….JUST GO AWAY!! lol 🙂

  2. I got the eyeshadow quad you mentioned at the end, and most of the colors are very pretty, except the teal just seems to really stand out (and not necessarily in a good way). But I really love that Bare Minerals lipstick! It’s almost like a “your lips, but better” color, and the formula is very creamy

Leave a Reply

