Home » Skincare » My Skin Care Routine Blog Hop!

My Skin Care Routine Blog Hop!

1487726_10201146497937214_782401607_o

Did you know that the skin is the largest organ in the body? The skin is part of the Integumentary System, and without that…we would look very freaky. Imagine that! Was that a scary visual? So taking care of the largest organ in the body is pretty important. I belong to this amazing Facebook group called, “The Beauty and Fashion Blog Community” and this month’s blog hop is SKIN CARE! I have been meaning to write a post about this for awhile now and now is the perfect time.

More information on the Facebook Group here!

MY SKIN TYPE IS…

Dry

MORNING SKIN CARE ROUTINE

CLEANSERS

Washing the face is a very important step in the skin care regimen. Getting rid of all those impurities is a must!

I use a few different cleansers at this time. I haven’t found my holy grail one yet, besides my Lush facial scrub that I will talk about later. But, I don’t want to use a scrub every single day!

Clean & Clear Morning Burst 

What Clean & Clear says, “From the invigorating MORNING BURST collection comes MORNING BURST Facial Cleanser. This unique gel cleanser with Vitamin C and Ginseng wakes you up with a fresh citrus scent while soft BURSTING BEADS burst with energy and vitamins, leaving your skin feeling clean, energized and ready to face the day.” More information on this product here.

20140127-145412.jpg

I really do like this cleanser, but I am also not a fan of it at the same time. That is why I say I don’t have a holy grail cleanser yet. Comment on any recommendations!!!

It does smell nice and does wake me up, but I hate that it has all that chemical junk in it.  Yes, there is sodium lauryl sulfate in it. Surprise!! That is what makes it lather so well. It is oil free and has bursting beads which is a good thing.  It does clean my face nice and I don’t get any redness or breakouts from it. I do feel like it does dry my face out a bit, which I already have pretty dry skin so that is a con. But, all in all it is a nice cheap cleanser that you can get at a variety of locations (Target, Wal-Mart, etc.), but I am willing to try a different one.

Zum Face Gentle Facial Cleanser

This is by a company called, “Indigo Wild.” It is hard to find so I have been slowly using it. If you’re wondering more about, “Indigo Wild” and other products they make I did a review here.

What Indigo Wild says, “This gentle facial cleanser penetrates pores with saponified oils of certified organic coconut, olive and jojoba, pure essential oils of lemon and geranium, vitamin E and vegetable glycerin. It’s gentle, hydrating, and perfect for those whose skin is on a liquid diet.” More information on this product here. 

This is a natural facial cleanser and it is made from: Saponified oils of certified organic coconut, certified organic olive, castor, and certified organic jojoba, pure essential oils, tocopherol (vitamin e), sodium borate and vegetable glycerin.

20140127-145423.jpg

It does lather really well without those harsh ingredients. The scent is of lemon and geraniums, but it is a stronger scent. Luckily it doesn’t last on the face. It does have a pump for easy assess. The price is expensive for what you get, but you only need a tiny bit at least. It does cost $10 for 4 oz. Since it is hard to find and shipping is hefty I don’t use it everyday, but it does make my face feel clean and refreshed and I don’t have breakouts from this product. I also love that it is natural!

Let the Good Times Roll Gentle Exfoliating Cleanser 

What Lush says, “A luxuriously soft and sweetly-scented cleanser, Let The Good Times Roll is made with maize flour and corn meal to gently exfoliate, and a dash of cinnamon powder to cleanse and warm cold winter skin. Its rich, velvety texture leaves your skin perfectly balanced, glowing and smelling like sweet and salted caramel corn. No wonder this cleanser is so popular!” More information on this product here

20140128-154447.jpg

I love it! I would use it everyday if I could, but I probably shouldn’t use an exfoliater everyday. I did do a review of this and you can check it out here. I have been using it for awhile now since my review and I have to say that this is a holy grail product of mine. It smells amazing for one thing! It makes my face feel nice and smooth. It’s made fresh and made of natural ingredients. I just love it!

TONERS

Eau Roma Water Toner by Lush

This was a step that I never thought was important until coming across Lush.

What Lush says about it, “Dry, sensitive or mature needs a gentle touch. In a world of “technology” loaded cosmetics, using a toner with only two active ingredients may seem unusual. But at LUSH, we believe in using effective ingredients instead of filler. Our most moisturizing toner, Eau Roma relies on the King and Queen of the essential oils world, rose and lavender. Both oils have been used for thousands of years to treat dryness, redness or irritation. Rose is particularly nourishing and cooling, while lavender helps your skin produce the right amount sebum (oil) to keep it suppler. Simplicity at its best.” You can find more information here

20140127-145437.jpg

I think doing this step using this toner is important for me because it is for dry skin. It helps moisturize my skin and get it ready for my moisturizer. The scent is very light and it softens my dry skin. I apply my moisturizer when my toner is still wet. I don’t know why, but doing it that way makes it seem like it lasts longer. It also helps my redness go away.

20140127-145457.jpg

Lush is known for being made from fresh ingredients, so they do have an expiration date.

EYE CREAM

PurMinerals Tone-Up Eye Cream

I think that a lot of eye creams have a lot of false claims. I’ve tried a few eye creams and this one is very new to me, so I won’t have that great of a review on it yet. But, I decided to look at the claims on the website and this is what I found.

  • 66% increase in skin hydration after 14 days
  • 60% reduction in skin roughness after 56 days
  • 50% reduction in wrinkle depth after 28 days

What PurMinerals says about it, “This intensive eye treatment is designed to firm, lift and smooth the delicate eye area for total eye fitness. Containing two breakthrough clinically tested super-ingredients—including our proprietary Dermafit Mineral Complex—Tone Up provides essential hydration, stimulation and antioxidant protection to minimize the look of premature wrinkles, roughness and dryness. This all-in-one formula is the pür solution for puffy eyes, dark circles and crow’s feet. Paraben-free.  Net Wt: .5 fl oz”  You can find more information here

20140127-145545.jpg

Like I said I haven’t used this product much yet, but first off the pump doesn’t work which is a big con! But, it is moisturizing, which is nice for my under eye area.  I work alternating 12 hours shifts, so I haven’t seen much improvement yet, but I never do with eye creams.

MOISTURIZER

Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer from The Balm

What The Balm says, “Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer has a wonderful lightweight texture, perfect for anyone who prefers to live an oil-free lifestyle! A mixture of humectants ensure that your skin is perfectly hydrated throughout the day.” You can find more information here

20140127-145609.jpg

I love this product. It is moisturizing for my dry skin. I know it says for normal to combination skin, but it really does help with moisture. I don’t get oily from it either. It does have a nice light smell that I like. It has a nice consistency that makes it easy to blend into the face.  The reason I found this product was through Hautelook and I got it for half price. At that time I decided to order two, this is my second one. I will definitely order more when I’m out!

NIGHTTIME ROUTINE

CLEANSER

Purity One Step Facial Cleanser by Philosophy 

What Philosophy says about it, “purity made simple one-step facial cleanser is our award-winning cleanser, loved by all for its multitasking, 3-in-1 approach to cleansing. purity made simple gently cleanses, tones and melts away all face and eye makeup in one simple step, while lightly hydrating. skin is left feeling perfectly clean, comfortable and balanced.” You can find more information here

20140127-145403.jpg

I love this product! When I first heard about it, I didn’t think that it would work as well as it does. It is really gentle! It removes my mascara like a pro!!! Also it cleanses my face!!! A makeup remover and a cleanser all in 1 step. A little bit goes a long way! I have had this for quite awhile and I’m almost half-way done with it.

EYE CREAM

Tarte Maracuja C Brighter Eye Treatment

What Tarte says, “Refresh, renew and recharge tired eyes with our eye treatment enriched with C-brighter™ technology. By harnessing the power of maracuja fruit, vitamin C and advanced botanicals, this skintuitive™ eye treatment visibly hydrates, firms and brightens the delicate eye area. ” You can find more information here.

20140127-145537.jpg

I still have my idea about eye creams promising too much! I don’t really notice much difference with this eye cream. It does moisturize my under-eyes, but it doesn’t help with my dark circles what so ever. But, I still say no eye cream can help a nurse’s under-eyes with rotating shifts. I just felt like it was an important thing to include in my skin care routine because I have been using it for the last few months. I won’t repurchase it either because it is too expensive!

MOISTURIZER

Tarte Maracuja Oil

What Tarte says, “Not all oil is created equal. This earth-prescribed treatment oil targets your individual skin concerns and delivers harmony and moisture for firmer, brighter, smoother-looking skin.” You can find more information here.

20140128-154424.jpg 20140128-154335.jpg

I really like this oil! I love that it is pure maracuja oil and natural. I was not a fan of the price at all! Since I only used it once a day it did seem to last long, but I do have really dry skin so I did use it up quicker. I use about 4 drops or so and apply it all over my face. It makes my skin feel nice and moisturized. I don’t have any redness or breakout problems from it. Also when I wake up my face feels super soft.

So that ends my skincare routine! Make sure to check out the other lovely posts down below!!!! I plan on checking them out too because I’m in hunt for a different everyday morning cleanser. With that, I hope you all have a wonderful day! Comment and let me know if you have tried any of these products and what you think of them!!!

Xoxo

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy

Check out all the wonderful blogs below to see their skin care routine! 

36 thoughts on “My Skin Care Routine Blog Hop!

  1. Great post! I feel the same with the tarte eye cream – I have expectations and they were not met, yet I’m going to use it up because I’m stubborn! I’m still looking for my dark eye fix.

  2. Such a great idea for a blog post! This was really helpful as my skin is in really bad condition at the minute! I’d really recommend Celtaphil as a cleanser, it’s so gentle but does the job well. X

  3. I like your mix of products!! Also I think eye creams must have ridiculous claims! Lol can you imagine the next new eye cream claiming ‘ soft feeling but not a huge dramatic difference ‘ lol!!!

  4. I keep seeing Lush products popping up all over everyone’s blogs… I might have to investigate. Is Lush available at department stores, or do you get it from somewhere else?
    – Michelle

    • I love Lush!!! It’s amazing! They’re more natural and are cruelty free! If you love skincare I would check them out! It is a stand alone company. The closest Lush to me is Mall of America, but you can get it online too. Check out the store locator of their site and that should direct you. But, I recently placed an order with Lush Uk because it is much cheaper there even with international shipping. The USA website is http://www.lushusa.com and the Uk one is http://www.lush.co.uk
      I plan on doing a post when my package arrives! I do have a few skincare reviews and hauls that I’ve done (in the skincare section of my blog menu). They’re also randomly included in my monthly favorites posts! Let me know if you end up getting anything from Lush.

  5. Everything you’ve said about that Philosophy cleanser has made me want it so much! I’m definitely going to give it a go when my current collection runs out, it sounds heavenly! The packaging on that Tarte oil looks gorgeous too, what a nice touch! You have a lovely collection xx

  6. I really like the tarte oil, right now I’m using up another bottle of Josie Maran’s argan oil that came in a set and I just got to try some lush out 🙂

    • The tarte oil is really nice isn’t it? I’ve never tried the Josie Maran oil one, but heard good things about it. What do you like better? Lush is amazing!!!! Waiting for my Lush haul package to get here 🙂

  7. What a great routine! I noticed you use oil from Tarte at night, have you ever tried any of Josie Maron’s Argan Oil? I am addicted to “Purity Made Simply” by Philosophy and have the mondo size bottle on auto-delivery. I’m a hug fan of Lush products for the bath, but haven’t truly given their face products that much of a chance; mainly due to cost. Great review!

  8. First of all, I adore LUSH products! They are fantastic. Their fresh face skin masks are amazing!! Second, you totally reminded me of the Indigo Wild brand! I used to use it a while ago and forgot all about it! Great post! I used to use the Philosophy cleanser and loved it. It’s a great product.

Leave a Reply

