Home » Blogging » ZERO TO HERO: Days 2-5

ZERO TO HERO: Days 2-5

 

So with working 12 hour overnight shifts this weekend I wasn’t able to write any posts and a few days went by in the Zero The Hero: 30 Days to a Better Blog that was started by The Daily Post. Click here for more information. This seems more for a newer bloggers, but I decided to try it out anyway. I plan on doing it in my own way, but I still think that it is a good idea to try out!

So here in Minnesota it is super cold! Apparently last time it was this cold was in 2004. It was -24 F when I got off work this morning at 7:30 AM. The temperature isn’t what is the worst part of the weather today. The wind chill is very low also. Right now the temperature is -20, but feels like -41. Earlier it was a lot worse. We’re in a winter chill advisory. They say that with the wind chill is so high it could freeze skin within 5 to 10 minutes. I am so glad that they decided to cancel school today all across Minnesota. Apparently my sister in law said that school is canceled tomorrow too for my niece. These past few days I have been very tempted to move somewhere warm. I am dreaming of walking along the ocean in 70 degree weather sipping a margarita. But, hey I would even be happy with being at O degrees. Right now 20-30 degrees sounds like t-shirt weather.

DAY 2: WHAT’S YOUR NAME?

This is always a hard decision for any new blogger. It took me awhile to decide on my blog name, but I did have awhile to think about it because I contemplated even starting a blog for quite some time.  I wanted a name that had the word beauty in it which could encompass what my blog was about. I wanted to write about makeup, skincare, fragrances, and many more beauty related products. Since I’m a big makeup and skincare enthusiast I just tried pairing words together with beauty. I even used Google for some ideas, but then I thought of deputy and I thought that it sounded cool and unique. My boyfriend always asks me why wouldn’t you want to be the sheriff? Well I think Beauty Deputy sounds better. Don’t you agree?

My description on my blog is: “Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!”

I also do a lot of posts on my pets: Mirya and Molly such as: Watch them grow pictures and BarkBox reviews.

DAY 3: WHAT’S ON YOUR MIND?

My first blog post was about a company called Indigo Wild. I did start out this blog at a different site, but moved to WordPress. I am so glad that I did because I got so much more feedback from people. Placing posts into categories and tags is very important I learned with WordPress.

Here is my first post: https://thebeautydeputy.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/brand-review-indigo-wild/

I have many different posts on my mind that I want to write. My brain is flowing with ideas! Comment and let me know if you have any requests on posts.

I will be posting a tag that I created called, “Share the Love” very soon! I think blogging is all about community and I love reading others blogs and I also love comments and writing back and forth. I think that is a very big part of blogging. I hate when bloggers don’t write back to reader’s comments.

DAY 4: EXPLORE THE NEIGHBORHOOD

I follow a bunch of topics in the reader: makeup, skincare, shiba inus, BarkBox, Nintendo Wii U, Nursing (I am a RN), and many more. I have found a lot of really good blogs through this process.

They told me to branch out and find new blogs with other topics that I wouldn’t ordinarily read. I decided to check out the topics travel, cooking, and baking.

DAY 5: LOVE YOUR THEME

I had this one theme for a really long time that was orange and flowery, but I thought it was time for a change. I basically looked through every theme and decided on the one that I have now. It’s called the,” Greyzed Theme.” I really like it  because I feel like it fits more with my personality. I hope to customize it more with my blog name, “The Beauty Deputy” someday. Recently I added a menu and I really like how it’s turning out. It’s so much more user friendly in my mind.

Make sure to take the poll and let me know if you like it!

This concludes days 2-5. Comment and let me know if you’re doing this post series so I can check it out on your blog too. If you’re living in Minnesota and any other cold place I hope you stay warm! If you’re living somewhere warm I wish I was there!

Xoxo

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy

 

3 thoughts on “ZERO TO HERO: Days 2-5

  1. What I like about the assignments is they have made it clear ou don’t have to do them all. 😀 I am glad to see you still doing this with me. I am about to get busy with work so I am hoping I can maintain as well.

  2. Pingback: Zero To Hero: Days 6-10 | The Beauty Deputy

Leave a Reply

