Home » Hair » Lush Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar Review

Lush Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar Review

I never really heard about shampoo bars until I went into a Lush store. I thought it was a neat idea, but wondered how could that work the same as liquid shampoo. Yet I knew I had to test it out!  I decided on the Jumping Juniper shampoo bar. Lush has quite a few different shampoo bar options such as: hair growth, oily hair, dry hair, tangled and unruly locks, and many more. Well I am a person that washes their hair everyday. I know I know it’s bad on my hair, but my hair does get oily if I don’t do that. I decided on the Lumping Juniper one because it’s formulated for oily hair and it did smell the best. I also got a little tin case for storage.

What does Lush say about this shampoo bar?

Herbal hair magic to transform oily hair

Our purple shampoo bar jumps into action to sort out oil problems on top. It cleans away grease and balances sebum production for soft, shiny (in the good way) hair. Fruity juniperberry oil sorts out your oily, congested scalp, while lemon and lime make your hair clean and shiny and give it an extra fresh scent. The incredible herbal duo, lavender and rosemary are superpowers if you’re having troubles in the oil department. Rosemary has been used for hundreds of years for its anti-bacterial capabilities while lavender is known for its ability to balance and soothe the scalp. You’ll be jumping for joy in no time!

http://www.lushusa.com/Jumping-Juniper/00554,en_US,pd.html#start=4

Some features that Lush describes

  • Puts the jump into it: Citrus oils of lemon and lime add shine and bounce to your style.
  • Herbal wonders: Lavender and rosemary work to soothe scalps and balance oil production to improve the condition of your hair.
  • Very berry: Juniperberry oil is astringent and decongests oil build-up on hair.

The Ingredients

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate , Lavender Decoction (Lavendula hybrida) , Rosemary Decoction (Rosmarinus officinalis), Juniperberry Oil (Juniperus communis) , Lemon Oil (Citrus limonum) , Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia) , *Citral, *Limonene , Perfume , D&C
Violet No. 2

The Pictures

DSC00644

DSC00643

DSC00642

What I thought of the shampoo bar?

Pros

  • smells like lavender and lemon which I think smells good
  • Doesn’t have an overpowering smell
  • Perfect for travel
  • Lathers really well (can be a pro and a con)
  • Super easy to use
  • Makes my hair feel really clean
  • It is good for my greasy hair (My hair still looks good the next morning, but at middle to end of the day it’s getting oily.)
  • Has mostly natural ingredients
  • Lasts a long time (The employee at Lush told me it lasts about 80 washes. I have not been counting, but I do have a lot left.)
  • Product is Vegan and cruelty free

Cons

  • Dries out hair if used too often or everyday (due to the con down below)
  • Has sodium lauryl sulfate in it which is a surfactant (allows water and oil to become mixed). This is a big con for me. SLS causes the lather, but it is also very drying to the hair and the scalp. When products say they’re sulfate free it means that the product was formulated without SLS.
  • Hard to get the shampoo bar out of the container (make sure to open the container before getting your hands wet otherwise it is impossible to open and also the container has just enough room to house the shampoo bar so there is no wiggle
    room making it hard to get the shampoo bar out because it likes to stick to the bottom)
  • Price: $10.95 which is kind of expensive for a shampoo bar, but it is Lush

All in all I did like this shampoo bar, but I am still disappointed that they used sulfates in their products. I am still a big Lush fan and will always love Lush products. Lush does have a lot of really good ingredients that they use in their products. But, hopefully one day they will go sulfate free! Let me know if you have tried any shampoo bars from Lush or any other brand.

Also check out my new menu that I created on my blog and let me know what you think!

Xoxo

Brittany

The Beauty Deputy

9 thoughts on “Lush Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar Review

  1. I love their body washes but was SO SO SO disappointed to see that they included sulfates AND freaking parabens…really LUSH- get with the program! Otherwise, I love their stuff! (but will be reading the ingredients before purchasing anything else in the future) Thanks for this review as I had been wondering about the shampoo bars!

    • Thanks for the follow. I followed you as well. Silly lush for using sulfates and parabens and drying out people’s hair. I am always searching for the perfect shampoo for my hair. I hardly ever buy the same shampoo twice in a row.

Leave a Reply

